We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent and just a fun experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sticky Lips Pit BBQ

Sticky Lips Pit BBQ
625 Culver Rd, Rochester, NY 14609-7443
585-288-1910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food excellent and just a fun experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I got the pulled pork sandwich with collard greens and macaroni and cheese. My husband got the b28 bomber. Yum! Service was good given how busy they were on a Saturday night. Overall, I will definitely be back when visiting Rochester area again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    132
    50
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Arguably the best BBQ place in the ROC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great food and big portions. I've eaten here many times and it's always great. Dinosaur BBQ would be the other contender for top BBQ but they are both excellent. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great food, huge portions, fun venue and good service. You pretty much can't go wrong eatting here - except for eatting too much.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Here's your hat what's your hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I always feel like I should bring a dish cloth when I eat at Sticky Lips. As the name implies it's sticky and a bit grimy. Every bottle of sauce on every table is always gooey I wonder if they ever get wiped down. It's a good thing they provide hand wipes at the table so you can clean up after using or passing a bottle of sauce. I can only comment on the vegetarian options at Sticky Lips and for a meat place there are many which makes this place a good option when you have meat and non meat eaters going out to dinner together. The food is OK and pretty reasonably priced. I had a portobello sandwich topped with fries and slaw. A good choice and very filling. One of the quirks at this place, and it happens every time, is that they come around and hand out take home boxes about half way through the meal. I kind of feel like they're saying "here's your hat what's your hurry". It's a very busy place but gee give us a chance to at least finish our meal before shooing us out the door. Also, our waitress brought me the wrong sandwich and argued with me when I asked for the one I ordered. That added to the inhospitable attitude we were already feeling. I have to admit if it weren't for the carnivores in our family I'd never go back but I have to tolerate it once in awhile.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had a really great meal here. The barbeque was excellent and the sides plentiful and interesting. Waitstaff was very friendly and attentive, despite it being busy. It was a very nice visit overall. I'll be very glad to go back!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sticky Lips Pit BBQ also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Henrietta, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sticky Lips Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sticky Lips Pit BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.