We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Rochester North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Rochester North to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Rochester North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1956 Lyell Ave, Rochester, NY 14606   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No Problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Lobby was nice, with fireplace and coffee. Our room was very clean and comfortable, no complaints there (and I'm very picky about cleanliness). The elevator needs updating (felt like a rundown service elevator) which was strange because the rest of the building was so nice. Overall, a pleasant and comfy stay.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Elevator
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    19
    11
    16
See reviews for
58
31
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

Newly renovated hotel with clean rooms and average breakfast. The hotel clerk on the night shift when we checked in was new and inexperienced which caused our check in to be prolonged. He was however very friendly. I had a package shipped to the hotel that was misplaced by the hotel staff, but they found it in the end.

  • Liked — Clean facility
  • Disliked — Inexperienced front desk staff
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

I usually don't do a second review, but the excellent service merits it. I sent some large boxes of business literature to the hotel which they willingly held for a week.

When I got there, they brought it to my room, without a request from me.

You expect that from a 4 star hotel not a La Quinta

They had fresh warm cookies every afternoon and evening

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed here for a wedding at the Diplomat, and it was definitely convenient only having to cross the parking lot to go to the reception. The hotel itself was somewhat grungy, not something we'd have chosen if it had been our decision (the wedding party/family had a block of rooms reserved). The carpets were really gross, we ended up in a stinky smoking room b/c there were 4 of us and we couldn't fit into a one-king bed room. The location is convenient for shopping as well, but the hotel itself is directly behind a gas/convenience store that's open 24 hours, and really was a little on the scary side. The price was cheap, in keeping with the accomodations.

  • Liked — The proximity to the event we were attending
  • Disliked — The dinginess and physical location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I chose the La Quinta because of the value; $85 in July is hard to beat, especially considering the price of most downtown Rochester hotels seems to be around $200 a night. The La Quinta isn't right downtown, a bit west of the Loop, but takes just a short drive on the I-490 to get to all the attractions.

The building and lobby definitely have a motel feel, but the quality and size of the rooms is excellent, rivaling higher priced chains. I have stayed at La Quintas previously and have found them to be above average accomodations. This location has been recently remodeled and the rooms/furnishings are clean, the linings were great. This La Quinta is top-notch, resembling a Radisson, rather than a Super 8.

The complementary breakfast (breakfast burritos!) was great and the 72 television channels were fantastic (including YES, which for an out-of-town Yankees fan was a rare treat; they have SNY for the Mets fans, too).

  • Liked — The size and cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — The lack of a pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed at a La Quinta on our way to Maine and loved it so much, we booked a room on our way home also. Again, very pet friendly, extremely clean, terrific little breakfast (free), and good rate! This one had recently been remodeled and it was awesome. The beds were soooooo comfy..sheets and pillowcases very soft. The carpet was so squishy I could feel it through my Crocs! It was so nice to be in a new, clean room with our dog, too. No "pet smell" or feel to the room which we appreciated more than you know!!! The staff was awesome! The guy on duty the night of July 5, 2008 (sorry forgot your name) was terrific. He recommended we eat at the Dinosaur BBQ and said he would mapquest it for us. The restaurant was awesome! Our only disappointment was they did not have a pool! (I assumed they did because the one in Massachusetts did that we stayed at 3 weeks earlier...needless to say, my son was so upset with me!) Other than that we again were so pleased with La Quinta. We will always look for a La Quinta whenever we travel. Love this hotel!!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, pet friendly
  • Disliked — No pool!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Newly renovated hotel, a bit far from the downtown, but very quiet and easy to get to. Staff was helpful, included an upgrade on the room when asked. The best breakfast buffet of any chain, includes make your own waffles and a huge variety of hot and cold items. .Room was clean, new furniture and carpets, if a bit bare. No problems or complaints here. Will stay again. Priced more reasonably than staying downtown, and Rochester is not so big that a 5 minute drive matters.

  • Liked — The breakfast!!!
  • Disliked — A bit far away from downtown.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Rochester North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Rochester North

Address: 1956 Lyell Ave, Rochester, NY 14606
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Rochester North 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Rochester North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
La Quinta Rochester
Rochester La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Rochester North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.