We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 Ridge Road West, Rochester, NY 14615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

During my stay in August 2013 it was very pleasant. The staff was very attentive starting with the Front Desk, attendees during breakfast hours and other staff members. I did not have any complaints during my two stay and there were no complaints of my total traveling party.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIERochester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear CM,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your business and hope that you will be one of our guests again in the near future.

Laroy Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
20
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
richmond hill
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night while attending a soccer tournament. The hotel is located on a major road, so very easy to find. The only problem I had was making the left turn into the hotel's property. You have to drive to the street lights just pass the hotel. Hotel staff was friendly and check-in was quick. The room is on the smaller size when compared with other Holiday Inn Express, but is okay for 3-4 adults for a short stay. The room had a small fridge and microwave. Fitness room was small and no free weights. The gym comprise of one treadmill, one elliptical and one recumbent bike and a universal fitness station - good enough for a good workout during a short stay. No pool. Hotel has ample parking for the number of rooms. Breakfast was good - standard Holiday Inn Express fare, e.g. eggs, cereal, sausage, juice. Breakfast dining room can get busy as there are limited tables. The worker at breakfast is friendly. I like the location as it is close to a highway, a decent ribs restaurant and Olive Garden across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear sis_8,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always very grateful for our guest’s feedback and are particularly pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance as we always strive to make your experience a great one. We hope that this level of care does make a difference and will encourage return stays.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is an average hotel with a friendly staff. I stay one night at this Holiday Inn Express for a business trip and if I had to would stay again. The room was average but nice and the hotel seemed cleaned. It is a good choice for a quick trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIERochester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Ragzz,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be one of our guests again in the near future.

Laroy Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The rooms at the Holiday Inn Express are small. This is in part to the huge counter with a sink and large mirror taking up about a third of the room. It is really up to date and modern but I wish they made it smaller so there was more space in the room.

The room which holds the shower and toilet is really small. So small that you couldn't open the door when you were sitting on the toilet or standing in front of the toilet. You had to stand in between the shower and the toilet in order to shut the door. It was claustrophobic.

There is a microwave and a fridge which are always welcomed in a hotel room. The oddest part of the room was that the softness of the mattresses varied between the two beds in the room. One was soft and the other was hard. I am not sure if this is on purpose but I have never had this experience before. Noticeably, above the bed there were four pictures in frames which were all the same print. Not the best decorating choice but it did bother me.

The breakfast at this hotel had lots to offer. Many different flavors of yogurt, pastries, pancakes, eggs, cereal, etc. The best part was the the staff running it was cheerful. They worked really hard and were friendly, not something you find very often anymore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIERochester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear dreamergirl4686,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found the service to be better than what your expected. I am sorry about the size of our bathrooms. Although I am not able to do anything about the physical size of the of the guest rooms I am able to see that our guest receive great service.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to have youas one of our guests' in the near future.

Sincerely,

Laroy Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First night in was okay, staff at front desk friendly enough. The rooms were a bit outdated and likely not worth the money they are charging for them. This hotel does not have a pool which is a real bummer if you have kids. Breakfast was decent and staff working breakfast were great. The second night was a nightmare, started recieving prank calls around 12:30 am keep in mind we have a 1 and a 4 year old. Then at 3:00 am this group of about 12 people decided to have a party outside the hallway from our door. I opened the door and they are literally sitting in the hallway driniking and raising hell. I had to call the front desk. Needless to say not much sleep for this family. I would not likely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIERochester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear noway12345,

I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectation for your recent stay at our hotel. There is never an excuse for providing a guest such as yourself with anything less than the perfect experience. Please contact me at the hotel directly so that I can investigate the detail of your stay and make it right for you.

Sincerely,

Laroy Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a one stay and everything was great. We couldn't find the remote for the second TV in the room and the front desk quickly got us another one. The room was clean and met our needs, it does seem that the hotel was an older hotel that has had some refurbishments.

The staff member working the breakfast room on 7/13 was excellent. Everything was well stocked and things were kept neat in clean. He was very helpful. We stay at HIE regularly and this breakfast was a step above the others - little details like hot sauce for the eggs, regular and sugar-free syrup, 2 types of yogurt with about 4 different flavors between them, a good variety of oatmeal, grapefruit juice. Kudos to the breakfast staff!

We come to Rochester yearly for an event and will stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIERochester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Pittpantherfan,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I will see that the breakfast staff receives a copy of this review to show them that thier hard work does not go unnoticed.

Have a great Summer and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Laroy Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for the first time, for a second look at the University of Rochester. The hotel is on a commercial road with restaurants close by, and right off I-390 north -- about a 10-minute drive.

We arrived late at night and there was no one at the front desk, but when we called out someone came immediately. The most important thing is that the beds are comfortable and the pillows are great. The bathroom is basic small, with just the tub and the toilet, but the sink area is generous, right inside the door of the room coming in.

Breakfast was as expected -- for the price, I don't expect a lavish spread. I was pleased that the eggs were fresh (not the pre-cooked portions at some hotels). It would have been nice to have another choice of fruit besides some tired looking bananas, but it was fine. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We stayed for 2 nights, and more often than not the front desk was not manned until you called out. It didn't bother me, but my 17yo daughter thought it was odd.

You can tell that the hotel is an older property which was renovated from the elevator, type of carpet and the bathroom, but it was fine - no odd smells or dirty corners.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIERochester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Cseleosida,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass along your comments to the staff during our next staff meeting. We will use your comments to help improve our guest service.

Thank you

L. Burges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece

Address: 1635 Ridge Road West, Rochester, NY 14615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Rochester-Greece Enjoy a relaxing stay at our Rochester, New York hotel, which offers you premium amenities and an ideal location off Route 104, with quick access to the Rochester business district. Our Rochester hotel is conveniently located near area attractions including Seabreeze Amusement and Water Park, Highland Park, the Seneca Zoo, and Geva Theater, all just a few miles from our hotel in Rochester, NY. Local sports teams include the Red Wings baseball team, the new Rochester Razorsharks basketball team, Rhinos Soccer and the Rochester Americans hockey team. If shopping is your preference, check out the Mall at Greece Ridge, with over 100 unique shops, just one mile from our Rochester, NY hotel. Business travelers looking for a hotel convenient to Rochester Airport (ROC) will benefit from our location near many area businesses such as Frontier Corp, Delphi, Eastman Kodak, Carestream Health and Bausch & Lomb. Close to our Rochester hotel are several area colleges including the University of Rochester, SUNY Brockport, Rochester Institute of Technology, Roberts Wesleyan and Nazareth College. Our Rochester, New York hotel aims to bring you top service and comfort with a 24-hour Fitness Center, free high-speed Internet access, a meeting room and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your Rochester hotel room now and Stay Smart at our Holiday Inn Express in Rochester, NY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece Hotel Rochester
Holiday Inn Rochester
Rochester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Rochester - Greece, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.