We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking on Taste” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Fern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Red Fern
283 Oxford Street, Rochester, NY 14607
5855637633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 1,126 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Vegan
Restaurant details
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lacking on Taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very cute little spot and a great location, I wished I had liked it more.
Unfortunately it's really all about the food.....which was average and bland.

I had the Compost plate, which is a compilation of macaroni salad, sweet potato salad, "spicy" "meat" sauce, balsamic field greens and Lemon maple tofu. Everything on the plate just blended together, with no distinct flavors or texture, Everything was Just soft and bland.
So yes, it was edible but not really enjoyable. Pretty disappointing overall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Vegan at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Eat here not because it is vegan but because the food is interesting tasty and unusual. Cute little place. Nice to eat outside. Desserts were scrumptious. Highly recommended. Loved the Mac and cheese

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good idea, but not the perfect realization of it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place should be so much better than it is! They have a great idea, a great location, a very cute interior decor. But then they have the curse of that location -- just like the last place, they are ungodly slow! Don't go unless you have a couple hours. They also make vegan food that is processed and kind of questionable in my mind -- why not make whatever delicious vegan meal you can make out of all unprocessed organic food (e.g. kale and beans and quinoa?), instead of trying to make it be like a meat meal? Just my two cents, maybe other people like fake cheese and fake meat.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic little vegan jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was a little skeptical of a vegan restaurant in Rochester NY but the food was fantastic! I got the "garbage plate" and wow it was good. Service is friendly and trust me vegans this is worth a stop. For non vegans this is a great place to experiment as they have familiar items which have been "veganized". Parking on street is usually easy also. I will definitely come back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Light, friendly, delicious, vegan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Simple and charming, this little place in the Park Avenue area brings lightness and friendliness to their food and service. The decor is eclectic - nothing fancy, just tasteful and refreshing. The food was excellent - for us non-vegans they were helpful and patient. The kale chips were surprising in their lightness and tastiness. The "burger" and the "bacon" were amazing taste reproductions of the "real" meats. We appreciated the experience, even while wondering how/why we valued having vegetable protein taste like animal protein. All in all, they are quietly confident in what they do: service, atmosphere, food. We look forward to being there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Fern also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Red Fern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Fern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.