We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some cleaning.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Murph's Irondequoit Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Murph's Irondequoit Pub
705 Titus Ave, Rochester, NY 14617-3926
585-342-6780
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #625 of 1,126 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Restaurant details
Syracuse NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could use some cleaning.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This used to be our "go to" place while visiting friends in Rochester for the past 2 1/2 years but last week really left a bad taste in our mouths. We were first surprised (and disgusted) by the filth on the booths, floors and lighting fixtures--made us cringle thinking what it looked like behind the closed kitchen doors. I ordered a steak au jou sandwich and my husband got a turkey sandwich. Both our sandwiches were on stale bread which was crumbly and neither had any flavor. My husband asked for a side of mac salad and it tasted like old and new mixed in together so it had some crunchy surprises in it. We hope things change and will probably give it another chance someday but with so many other wonderful restaurant choices in that are it probably will be a while.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Average fish fry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Still in search of a good fish fry in Rochester, and Murphs is not the one. The coleslaw was pretty decent, the fries and haddock were marginal. It was $9.95 I believe so the price was good, but honestly I'd rather pay an extra $5 to have fresh, never frozen haddock. There is a difference in flavor and texture; no comparison. On the plus side, the chicken wings were very good and I would go back just to order those.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Legend of Murph's Continues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Murph's Irondequoit Pub is one of a kind. It's a local hangout that you usually find in a college town. Overall, the food is good for a public house (PUB). The exception are the Chicken Wings. They are delicious, especially the Firecrackers also known as the Chinese Firecrackers. These wings are coated with sweet and sour sauce with a kick of spice. Also, Murph's have a ton of weekly specials. These specials range from a pitcher of Labatt and 25 wings for $20 on Tuesday and Thursday nights to free game night/$5 pitchers of Labatt on Wednesdays! Free game night includes darts, billiards, and skee-ball ALL NIGHT LONG. Finally, want to give a BIG UP to the staff at Murph's. The lady bartenders and the door-men are fun to interact with, especially if you get them started on the Charlotte Ice-teas (Vodka and Ice-tea). Here's to Murph's Irondequoit pub...The Legend Continues.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for wings Monday and Saturday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I love the wings here - not so impressed by anything else. A bit dark and a bit pricey on some of the other things. Wish they had more choices like sweet potato fries and better desserts. Some of the "guests" can get a bit loud and obnoxious - do not go when there is a game on to avoid or later at night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irondequoit, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food - Reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stopped in with 4 friends for drinks & dinner on a Friday night. Friendly server, food was great. I had the beer battered fish - not too greasy, big portion. Prices are very reasonable. Huge eclectic fish tank in the bar area for mindless gazing while enjoying your food & drinks. Many TVs for easy sports viewing. Overall, great neighborhood locale.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murph's Irondequoit Pub also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Murph's Irondequoit Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murph's Irondequoit Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.