We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eh.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Winfield Grill

The Winfield Grill
647 N Winton Rd, Rochester, NY 14609-7855
585-654-8990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #260 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“eh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I've been to Winfield Grill three times now, most recently last night for drinks and apps with a girlfriend. I had previously enjoyed the atmosphere, but I think there has been a decline in standards; new servers perhaps, new owner. Not sure.. but Winfield now feels like an Applebees. Went late on a Tuesday night, ordered nachos to share, buffalo chicken bites and a shrimp appetizer with bacon, spinach, fetz over rice. The server was apathetic, the food was boring and the music was SO LOUD. Not an enjoyable experience at all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Winfield??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After reading reviews for this restaurant, we decided to try it for ourselves. My husband, his mom and I went for dinner early on a Thursday night. Even though the bar was busy, there were not that many patrons in the dining area. Service was lackluster and I can say that the best part of our meals were the salads. My husband's dinner arrived sloppily plated and barely warm. My mother in law's fish was also hardly warm and the fish wasn't even cooked through. We did complain about her dinner and they did take the charge off our bill but didn't offer a substitute menu choice. We also found the restaurant to be very noisy and it appeared the quality of service depended upon whether you were a regular or not. My husband and I may try the Winfield again but it will probably only be for a burger or "bar" food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Rochester has a lot of good sports bars and restaurants. Winfield is just average on prices, quality of food and on service. Nothing really spectaular about this place

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

A little loud for me now that I am getting older but the food was very good. Used to go there in my younger days every weekend and had a ball. Great drinking and partying bar/resturant

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“needing a menu change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

the new addition is nice, a great place to watch a game and have a cold one. The food is extremely average and the menu is in need of an update. I would rate the menu as something found during the 70's. Add progressive dishes, fusion items instead of the Americana-style dinners and you will see more people come to eat.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winfield Grill also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Winfield Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winfield Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.