We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best damn sub I have ever had.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines

DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines
620 Jefferson Rd, Rochester, NY 14623-3260
585-475-1831
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,095 restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best damn sub I have ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Sub are great. They will pretty much fix them any way you want. Homemade bread baked daily and a variety for those that want grains.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    69
    24
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Try this you won't be sorry!
The sub rolls are freshly baked with bakery quality and flavor.
I had a veggie - fabulous, fresh chopped ingredients piled high and delishous!
The hubs had a hot Philly cheese steak! Fantastic!
Top that off with chips, cookies and sides and voila what a meal

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We love this place. We ate here twice during our stay in the Rochester area. They bake their own bread and the meat is very fresh. My son said, "like subway, only better!"

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Love the bread. love the meat. love the toppings. love the oil. Wish they would offer spinach instead of lettuce. Wish there was one closer but yet glad there isn't

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wowwww”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Living in the Buffalo NY area I never took the opportunity to visit their one location in Amherst, NY. There are so many choices here as many know.

But while visiting the Rochester area, we decided to try this location, which quite large in size. I discovered what I have been missing all these years. Huge fresh subs with so many choices. Did I say hugh and fresh? A small sub is able to feed two who are minimally hungry. Then there is the medium and large. There were others thing to try, but I was stuck on the subs and had to go back another day to try it again. I tried the Cheesesteak and the Uncle Louies and I am addicted.

And the cookies were so gooodddd!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.