We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chen Garden

Chen Garden
1750 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618-1843
585-241-3070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 989 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food is great here, a little on the dark side inside so it takes you a minute to adjust. I went with 5 people and all of our dishes were great. Soup was good too, wait staff was average but didn't feel rushed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese since China Gate closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family has been searching for a Chinese restaurant to replace (our favorite) China Gate in Henrietta which closed a few years ago. We are pleased to say that Chen Garden has filled the bill admirably!
There is nothing like a good Chinese sit-down restaurant. Take-out is convenient and everywhere, but good Chinese eat-in is rare. Example: popular sesame chicken take-out is always a bit soft & mushy. Chen Garden's sesame was crispy and flavorful to the max! We also ordered scallops & shrimp in garlic sauce. Many restaurants serve small, sliced scallops-NOT Chen Garden! The portions were generous and the taste was authentic.
We brought our young granddaughter and the staff made her feel special. We enjoyed the experience and our search for great eat-in Chinese is over!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great shrimp spring rolls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was surprised; this must be a little known place, because it’s tucked between two other stores at a small shopping strip (about 7 stores in all). But once inside everything changes, first, the place is larger than it appears from the outside. Second, the first thing is a good thing because gets crowded, the reason why for the last two things is the food. When its crowded, service becomes slow, but that understandable. I had the shrimp spring rolls, pepper spinach and shrimp, home specialty, and the top shelve drinks are reasonably priced too. I will return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILTON
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good food. Great service! Highly recommend. Seated immediately after making reservations. Our server was quick to approach our table. Huge menu. Too many decisions. Our server was quick to make suggestions. Prices were right.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Chinese restraunt in Rochestwer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are regulars at Chen Gardens. The service is fast and the food wholesome. We especially like the brown rice tofu and vegetable combination. The owner is on duty and attentive to our needs. ...and the price...a steal !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chen Garden also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Chen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chen Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.