We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the crabcakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edibles Restaurant

Edibles Restaurant
704 University Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-1263
585-271-4910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Edibles Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 1,095 restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oxford Street
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Try the crabcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had lunch today, but I've been here for dinner. Great service, unique menu choices. For something different, try the truffled tater tots. The prices are bit high for lunch, but it was a nice treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    29
    21
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Unfortunately very unimpressed with Edibles. Group dinner out and space is very small, extremely loud and conversation is near impossible.
Our waitress started out fine, very friendly and congenial ,but as night went on she became very distant and seemed annoyed. Made one return trip to our table and didnt say a word except to take some food to wrap up.
Very nice to have cork our wine bottles for us, and Lemoncello martini was fantastic!
We started with groupd appetizer platter and it was fantastic! Duck legs were delicious! as were the olives and black bean dip.
Dinner however was different. I ordered that lamb stew and it was terrible! The biscuit in it took up 3/4 of the bowl, was stale, rock hard and had no flavor. I had three pieces of lamb and several vegtables. For $20 it was no deal and embarrasing for this restaurant to rip a customer off so flagrantly. Several of our groups meals were very small and no where worth the high price they charged.
Unfortunately this establishment is off our list. Too much money for so little food. too bad on Edibles part!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, comfie, funky Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The menu is great, the food is outstanding (I recommend the shrimp for starters), the atmosphere is comfortable with a tinge of Boston South End bistro elegance, and the people-watching fun! Sit at the bar, enjoy a glass of good wine from their reserve list or if you do have dinner, ask for Nick who is THE best server in town and makes your dining experience absolutely enjoyable! I recommend Edibles. Did I mention the bread pudding with creme anglaise sauce?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Edible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Love the atmosphere here - romantic yet funky and slightly off the beaten path. Dinner was good, although food at brunch on prior visit was even better. Loved the perogies, they were top notch. Salmon was good as well - my date's food was deemed tasty but not exceptional. Service was top notch and efficient. Menu prices are a little high but there are often coupons available.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing In Season Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The ambiance is romantic and quaint. The food is delicious! The chef prepares a menu for the season. So the menu is constantly changing for the season. We had the Tatar tots and duck legs for apps. I had a beautifully cooked salmon and my husband had the stuffed pork chop. Prices are reasonable. Will be going back next month.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edibles Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Edibles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edibles Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.