We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plum House

Plum House
686 Monroe Ave., Rochester, NY 14607
(585) 442-0778
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #309 of 990 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Restaurant details
Victor, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We had sushi at the Plum House on a Saturday night. it was average at best. Compared to other sushi joints they have a very limited selection of specialty rolls. We did try 2 of the specials they had this particular night and they were good. The place has a pleasant atmosphere and it should be said they were packed on the Hibachi side. We will try the Plum again, but for the Hibachi on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superbly Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Super food. That's it, no other place can compete with the Plum House. From the complementary petite cucumber salad, Miso soup, to the house specials and standard fare, it is the best in Rochester.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This place has great food and good service. Also it's one of the very few places in town that actually have reasonable prices for a glass of wine- $4.50!! Only complaint is the parking kinda stinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Okay place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We had good service and good food. We got the platter for two lots of chef choices, and chef choice of rolls. It was sushi that was priced right. Would I return probably.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“ISO Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

In the midst of my last review of Cali Rollin, I am in search of sushi! This establishment was fine. Ordered the sushi for two at chef's choice. They were not over the top, nor creative.

The atmosphere was fine, the tables were too close together. It was warm which was nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plum House also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Plum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.