We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good meal at a neighborhood restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roncone's

Roncone's
232 Lyell Ave, Rochester, NY 14608
(585) 458-3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 990 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Parkway
Transit: RTS
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good meal at a neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The food is good here. The atmosphere is basic,nothing fancy. The neighborhood is a bit rough but ok to visit for lunch in the day time.the folks there are pleasant and the service is good. Try take out if you prefer .good sauce.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Honest Great Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

On my first visit last year, I have the chicken parmesan, which was delicious. The other day, I returned for the fish, haddock I believe. This time, I wasn't as impressed. The fish was a little mushy and should have been more flaky. The pasta is outstanding, as is the sauce and meatballs. A solid Italian restaurant in a bad neighborhood. (Leave the new car at home.)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place in a bad part of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was pretty disappointed. After driving into the city I was expecting a hidden gem based on it's long reputation. The food was average Italian fare - nothing special. The dining room was pretty worn out. The service was excellent - you could tell they were well trained. They can't do anything about the neighborhood except maybe think about relocating. I'm sure it is an hangout for the old timers and the neighborhood and they probably love the place. The owner & waitstaff are very friendly. I was expecting to see someone come out of the bathroom holding a .38 special and shoot a gangster and a police captain in the head. Try the sausage.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
1 review
“This place rocks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you're craving good Italian food, at a great price, Roncone's is your place. Joe and his staff will make you feel right at home.
For me, this is my go-to place now. It used to be Mr. Dominic's (we all know what happened there...) and Romeo's.
I can honestly say that there's heart in this place. You can feel it. It's not just a place for people to work. They care. They work hard and if something's not right, they'll make it right.
We celebrated New Year's eve 2013 and chef, Josh, prepared a Beef Wellington special that was to die for! Last Saturday I asked Joe to repeat a special of Filet Mignon topped with a lobster tail and tarragon butter...no problem. Again, it was excellent! And our favorite server, Debbie, is ALWAYS spot-on. A true professional.
Back to the food. Some of my favorites; haddock french, rappi over ziti, fresh tomatoe salad (summer), thursday's turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes & gravey lunch special (OMG!).
Plus, a vibrant wine selection.
And please don't be fooled by the neighborhood. John, out front, will always keep a close eye on your car.
So go, have fun and eat well. You will not find a better place to spend your casual dining dollar than Roncone's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Chicken Parm, Artichoke French, and Italian Wedding Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant was amazing! The prices were low, serving size was large, and everything tasted wonderful! Our waitress was really nice, and the drink refills were spot on with timing! Also loved the more family feel this restaurant had, and part way through our dinner a musician came in and was finger picking on his guitar, and it was so nice... Great treat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roncone's also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Roncone's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roncone's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.