We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phillips European

Phillips European
26 Corporate Woods, Rochester, NY 14623
(585) 272-9910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,126 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very good experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Haven't been to Phillips in awhile. After reading some reviews it seemed like things went downhill since last visit, several years ago. Base on past experiences took the wife there for her birthday today. Had Veal Marsala and Steak au Poivre. Food was outstanding, full of flavor and cooked perfectly. Service was great, nice wine list. Finished off with the lemon tort. I thought prices were reasonable and the atmosphere was fine. Place was pretty full and people were there for dinner not just desert. I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    42
    20
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Dinner on 7/2/14 was outstanding as always. My husband had the poached salmon, which he loved, and I had the Thai chicken and scallops - yum! We both totally went over the top with the caramel pecan cheesecake for dessert and fresh coffee. I would call Phillips a hidden gem; it's not on a main road and is not in your face with advertising. BUT it is DEFINITELY worth taking the time to find Phillips and going here!! Even if it's just to stop in and have an amazing dessert!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with very good menu and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had a business lunch at Phillips European today. Of note their food is flavorful and creative.
This is a local family owned business who gets it right. It's worth mentioning that I try to eat food with as little salt as possible. Sometimes when you ask the waiter or waitress they don't know what to say. Here the waiter went back to the cook and asked. I got a delicious poached salmon with vegetables. It was cooked to perfection. Others got great meals. The desserts are famous for a very good reason. Save room if you can !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Havent been back for some time and wont return. The table decor is Diner type not a fine restaurant; small paper napkins and glass table cover; bread was ice cold ,pieces stuck together and hard. My wife's pasta was tasteless and watery. Steak over cooked despite being assured that "medium" had a pink center.
Service was ok but waitress kept apologizing but no manager came over to discuss the issues.
Couldnt wait to leave without dessert!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

It was my first time dining at this restaurant. First want to say thanks to Sean for being a knowledgeable and kind waiter.
The food was terrific, and the presentation was fantastic as well. We started with the escargot which was the best. Followed by pasta with shrimp, and pasta with scallops. Delicious.
As everyone says, the desserts are really out of this world. We had the crème brulee which was the best I've ever had. The torched sugar on top made the dessert amazing.
The total cost for an appetizer, 2 entrees, and dessert came all under $70 which is very reasonable.
Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips European also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Phillips European? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillips European, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.