We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for everything, especially desert.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phillips European

Phillips European
26 Corporate Woods, Rochester, NY 14623
(585) 272-9910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,108 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Walworth
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A great place for everything, especially desert.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stopped in a Thursday evening, without a reservation, and were lucky enough to be seated immediately. A nice cozy corner table in the back room where it was nice a toasty. There was a decent crowd for early evening but background noise was not that bad, very comfortable atmosphere.
Server was prompt to welcome us, take drink orders, present menus and go over specials of the evening. Menu selection is very nice, full range of poultry, beef, pork, veal and seafood dishes to select from.
Dinner salads are a nice size, we recommend the Mediterranean; dressing is tasty but not overpowering and just the right amount of Feta.
Dinner servings are substantial. I ordered a petite serving, to go with my salad, and it was a normal portion at many other establishments. Food was very tasty and not over spiced. Meal was enjoyable and no left overs! Server checked on us throughout the meal to make sure we were set with water, bread, etc.
They have a nice wine list, we enjoyed a nice New York Reislling which complimented our meal very nicely.
Desert fans will love Philips, their desert menu is a s big as their meal menu. We both ordered desert to go as the meal was so filling that we needed some recovery time.
We were lucky to get in without reservations, Phillips is very popular, especially on the weekend. We were just lucky to visit on a weeknight. We wil go back, it was very enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    37
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's all about dessert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Dessert is the best thing about this restaurant, and I would recommend going there for the desserts alone. They have a huge selection of cakes and tortes, all displayed in a huge glass case in the front of the restaurant. I had the vanilla cheesecake, and it was hands down the best cheesecake that I've ever had (and i make a pretty good cheesecake myself). Very tasty, light, and just a dusting of graham cracker cumbs underneath. The restaurant is quiet, and the decor is classic (crystal sconces, wallpaper, lace curtains). The wooden chairs are a bit worn, and I would suggest that they lose the many neon signs in their windows. We also ate dinner there. They have a selection of classic dishes such as Escargots, Shrimp Cocktail, Steak Diane, Steak au Poivre, Veal Marsala, etc. The menu definitely appeals to an older crowd, we were the youngest people in the restaurant (30's-40's). They also have a surprisingly good selection of vegetarian entrees. I had one of the specials - Sole French. The fish was cooked perfectly, although I thought there was too much batter. Personally, I'd skip the food the next time and go straight for dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Family story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

At Phillips European you see desserts first. That's great because you can plan the rest of your meal around one of these delectables. Very good idea because the salads, soups and entrees are excellent. Small eaters with big eyes can chose from three "petite" portion chicken entrees done in the French manner. Petite was quite generous with a good range of side dishes. At our 7 person table we had a variety of dishes and everyone was happy, including one person with dietary restrictions. The ambiance was just right for this table of people who wanted to engage in conversation. Music way in background if there was any, and talk at other tables not intrusive. Ask your server to tell the sweet story of this family-owned and operated restaurant: A woman coming here from England, meeting the man who became her husband and co-owner of the eatery they began years ago. Hope to go to Rochester so I can eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dessert is the draw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Yes the food is good, if pricey, and the atmosphere very classy. But the spotlight here belongs to the dessert case, maybe 15 feet long, and you have to walk past it to get a table. The cakes and pastries are phenomenal and the perfect place for a quiet date. Not a place for children.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dessert is the draw but don't overlook the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Phillips is one of our favorite restaurants in town. We have eaten there a number of times, most recently in August 2013. The food has always been excellent. Very diverse menu from which to choose. Had an especially great Baked Brie appetizer. I ordered Steak Diane. The steak was cooked to perfection. My wife ordered vegetarian crepes which were also very good.

Of course desserts take center stage at Phillips. We have tried many of them over the years and found them all excellent. There is no other place in Rochester like Phillips.

A couple of negatives from our last visit. The service was OK but not great. Also they used flimsy paper napkins. Seems like a bad place to cut corners. However neither of these are enough to prevent us from coming back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips European also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Phillips European? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillips European, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.