We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phillips European

Phillips European
26 Corporate Woods, Rochester, NY 14623
(585) 272-9910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,095 restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Continental
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A little pricey for me.Easy to spend $30 on two desserts and coffees.Its hard to justify the price with so many other bakeries in the area

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    62
    32
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angers, Pays de la Loire, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

While they have excellent european dishes, they outdo themselves on their desserts. They offer nearly 30 cakes and pastries of every kind and they are subliminal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great spot, killer desserts and fun staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This restaurant offers awesome food, great desserts and a phenominal staff. The prices are reasonable and dining there was an experience, not such a place to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small, pricey meal were well cooked but blandly seasoned; Desserts were fabulous.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The meals were small portions of very subtly season ingredients that were well cooked -- too bland -- and pricey for me ($20.00 for lunch and dessert that leaves me hungry).

The decor is a disjointed mix of new wallpaper and faux distressed decorations to simulate a European cafe. The chairs however, are terribly worn, to the point that I caught my clothing on one of them. It is clearly not the result of a interior decorator (should be for these prices).

The desserts are their saving grace. They are amazing! I would recommend anyone going here skip the meal and go only for dessert and coffee!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Killer Desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I gave this place a try despite some of the lackluster reviews. I'm glad we did - the meals were good, maybe not the best I've ever had, but quite tasty. The potatoes and veggies were properly cooked and well seasoned, not mushy or bland. We shared the baked brie appetizer, too, which was ugly but delicious!

Even with the petite portion of my Chicken Dijon, I didn't have room for dessert, but with all the good things written about them, we got some to go, and we did not regret it. The desserts were rich and heavenly. The peanut butter torte is my new favorite thing, finally replacing peanut butter pie at the top of my list.

The server was friendly and attentive, no complaints there.

Finally, my only real complaint was the wine selection. With decent French and Italian choices on the menu, I would have hoped for some great wines - especially being so close the the Finger Lakes and Niagara Falls wineries. It seems like the owners opted to keep the wine price point low, however, so the wine choices were just.... okay. We didn't order the Yellow Tail wine because experience has taught me not to drink it, but I was pretty disappointed to see it on the menu of an otherwise good restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips European also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Phillips European? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillips European, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.