We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back After Long Absence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hogans Hideaway

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hogans Hideaway
197 Park Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2611
585-442-4293
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Eclectic, Bistro, Sandwiches
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Back After Long Absence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had not been to Hogan's in years but went recently with some old friends who were visiting from out of town and asked to go there due to fond memories. The daily specials have gotten quite expensive for this casual spot so we stuck to a mixture of soup, salads, sandwiches and smaller plates. Most items were good, with the one standout being the truffled mushroom risotto which was outstanding - perfectly cooked, with plenty of flavor. A piece of peanut butter pie for dessert was also memorable. Service was very attentive and efficient. This is not still the funky, creative spot from "old days" but you can find worse places to eat in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food was delicious and choices were many”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Atmosphere is eclectic, coffee, bread and homemade soups excellent. The sandwiches and dinners I've had were so delicious. Each time I visit Rochester, I eat here...worth it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

First started visiting about 5 years ago on a recommendation. It was OK, but nothing out of the ordinary. Over time, there has been a definite improvement in the quality of the food, with our most recent trip being the best. I hope they continue their uphill trajectory. We will be back to check soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What happened to Hogan's Hideaway?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was one of my favorite restaurants in the 80's and 90's, but it has gone downhill. I went for lunch with a girlfriend and was surprised to find the dining room empty. I thought I was in the wrong place! The food was just OK. Won't make a special trip for this one again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had lunch at Hogan's on Father's Day. We ate outside on the back porch and enjoyed the food. The service was a bit slow though even though they weren't very busy that day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogans Hideaway also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Hogans Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hogans Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.