We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
99 Court St, Rochester, NY 14604-1824
585-325-9127
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 989 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Turin, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Must go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

One of the few must go places in Rochester. Tasty BBQ, superb Texas brisket and chicken. Friendly service and price OK.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    295
    77
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pachuca, Mexico
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A tipical American restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been on different Dinosaur Bar-B-Que restaurants ans this is the best one in my opinion, the river is just across the street and you can see it from the restaurant windows, the food is great, you have to try the pulled pork and ribs, also the corn bread. As in the others restaurants you have to wait for a table but you won't be disapointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

the food is great and reasonably priced. there can be a wait to get a table but once you're seated the service is amazingly fast.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best BBQ, you must stop here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The restaurant is extremely popular and most likely there will be a wait to get a seat, no matter what time of day you go here. So plan accordingly. We are traditional barbeque people so we always order a sampling of ribs, pork and brisket. The meat is amazing! It’s perfectly seasoned and melts in your mouth. I do find that whenever we have lunch here (yes, we have visited a few other locations), I almost never need to eat dinner that night!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Full restaurant, full bellys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place is always busy. They do have a large crowded bar where you can enjoy a beers or 2 while you wait for your table. I found the wait was as promised and the food was pretty good, although I didn't think there was a lot of choice but the portions were large. You can't beat the location by the river in downtown Rochester. I would say the service was average. It was fast enough but never did get that "thanks for coming hope you come again" feeling. Sure doesn't hurt there business though. Worth checking out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinosaur Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.