We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
99 Court St, Rochester, NY 14604-1824
585-325-9127
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
West Burke
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Same Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We started visiting this place when our daughter was in college in the area. Fell in love at first bite. Had lunch there yesterday during a visit for a wedding. Yum, yummy, yummiest! We usually order combo plates and mine didn't disappoint. Plus, the extra sauces on the table are a bonus. We had a great server (Caleb), we love the atmosphere and we will return if the opportunity arises or will visit the Syracuse or Troy locations if we are ever there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    265
    67
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
“Lots of Fred Flinstones here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Better book and hour in advance! This place packs them in, serves huge portions and has an ever cavernous space. Ribs were lean and tasty but not falling off the bone, wings were a bit crusty with burned bbq ( I worried about free radicals eating these), fried green tomatoes were outstanding, cole slaw so so, tomatoes and cucumbers were loaded with mealy tomatoes. I thought the food was average but the service was outstanding. Make sure you get a table overlooking the Genesee River it was spectacular! Bar scene is lively with plenty of selection of beers and spirits. My husband and son and I split one rack of ribs, order of wings and fried green tomatoes. We walked out stuffed with half that order to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I'm from Texas and could not believe how great the bar-b-que was.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ate here several times while in Rochester. Atmosphere, food and service are excellent. Great views of the river.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hrusice, Czech
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Super atmosphere, great grilled meat, spicy green tomatoes, unforgetable corn bread, a wide choice of beers. Don´t forget buy the Dinosaur´s BBQ Sauce for your own barbecue at home!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherburne, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The prices were reasonable and they have a kids' menu. The beef brisket is AWESOME. The sides have a unique spin. I look forward to eating there again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinosaur Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.