We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacco's Ristorante

Bacco's Ristorante
263 Park Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2723
585-442-5090
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,108 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Quiet Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent food, intimate atmosphere, quiet enough to have a conversation - a rarity today. Love this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Molto bene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at Bacco's at least 6 times and have wonderful experiences each time. Great food and the owner and staff are very accomodating and genuinely concerned you are enjoying the experience. Nice location and very nice feel inside. Can't wait to go again....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Initimate location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I grew up eating authentic Italian food both at home, in the New York/New Jersey area, as well as in Italy. Baccos is among the best I've had. My husband had an appetizer of escarole and white beans that was to die for. We also had the grilled grouper, the veal saltimbocca and the penne vodka, all wonderful. The wine list was substantial and my husband enjoyed a fine Merlot. The restaurant is located in a converted home and it was cozy and pleasant. Highly recommend it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“If you have nothing good to say should you write a review?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have waited a month to write this review. We went to Baccos about 5 years ago and was very unimpressed. Friend told us to go back since the owner had changed and they now like it. The owner is a sweet man who works hard to make things work. I debated about writing a review given how nice the owner is HOWEVER after seeing many reviews I decided to write to counter that this is the best Italian food in Rochester. The food was terrible. Salad was over chilled. Pasta was bland with garlic overtones. Veal was pounded to be soft but tasteless even with the sauce. We left so disappointed wanting to have a great meal. Service was lackadasical and uncaring. The A/C as someone else described was on us but the people next to us were sweating. Tables were too close so I now know about people I don't care about. Bottom line is just because the owner is nice if the food and service is bad don't go

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Special Place - Great for Couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Bacco’s is one of Rochester’s gems. I brought the spouse here for our weekly dinner date, and it turned out be one of the better places we've been to in Rochester.

It is nice to know that in a world that appears to be dumb’ing down its cuisine via national chains (Olive Garden, etc.) that a place like Bacco’s is around and apparently thriving as evident by the decent sized crowd already sitting and enjoring themselves.

The setting is in a house on Park Ave and is decorated subtly - romantic atmosphere. The service was outstanding – the maitre de greeted us promptly; he was pleasant and polite and right from Italy. The servers were professional, personal, and very attentive.

The menu had so much to choose from I’m not sure where to begin. The standard menu did have the things that you would normally expect ranging from steak, chicken, seafood and an assortment of pasta dishes. The specials though are where this place really differentiates itself. The list was long and extensive and had some unusual offerings (squid ink?!) and some that were just too good to pass on. We opted for all the specials (lamb, pasta, and a grouper with an assortment of side fish type dish).

If you’ve ever been hungry, in the mood for something different but not really sure what “different” means, then this is a great place to go because of the diverse offerings.

We were very pleased with the meals, portions might be smaller than what a typical person is used to, but the flavor is so rich you feel completely satisfied when finished.

We had an app, a bottle of wine, and a couple of entrées all in for less than a $100 - very reasonable considering how good everything was.

Bacco’s is a perfect place to take someone special to for a nice night out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacco's Ristorante also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Bacco's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacco's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.