We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Distillery Restaurant

The Distillery Restaurant
1142 Mount Hope Ave, Rochester, NY 14620
585-271-4105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 1,108 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

02/13/2014 ~ Group of three guys ~ Lunch / 2 Burgers an 1 Fish.
The waitress was wonderful. Her name was Sarah. She was very friendly, very polite and very attentive to our table. I would recommend the restaurant for lunch an ask for her as your waitress. I hope the restaurant has more people working there that are as nice as she was.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    61
    39
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food & Great Service (Ryann)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was on business in Rochester and I noticed this restaurant on the way to my hotel. I assumed it was a craft brewery type of place but not the case. It calls itself a family sports bar.

I was very surprised with the quality of the food, I had the Salmon, and the suggestions by the waitress Ryann. She was very helpful and answered my questions about the area and the menu.
She had lots of energy and apparently enjoyed her job.

I highly recommend this place for families and business travel, I would go there again if I come back to town for business.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Distillery chain is the favorite of my husband's two sons, so we actually go there a fair amount, and the food is not bad, but it's salty, there's a lot of savory mixed with sweet dishes, which don't like and most of all it's loud, which makes having conversations difficult.

I sometimes wonder if that's why they like it. It's definitely more for 'millennials" than people in their 50s like us.

I'm picking a random date, because we've been there many times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My freaking drink”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

So we traveled back home from Hilton Head, SC a full 16 hour trip and all we wanted was a drink and something fast to eat. The distillery is right around the corner from the house so we stopped. I drink CC rocks and it came in that small glass with ice. Ate dinner nothing to rave about. We paid and paid quick to get home. On the way out, I was looking at the bill and my drink said CC 4.25. Underneath it there was a charge CC ice 2.75. WAIT WHAT? So I stop the waiter and and asked and he said well when you have straight booze we give you like 3 shots so there is an up charge. What? I asked for CC rocks. Not a double not a triple and I am not paying for ice!! Seriously, you could not fit 3 shots with ice in that stupid glass. Just charge me 7 bucks give me a manhattan glass and there will be no moaning!!! BTW I emailed them and no response... Enough said??

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Snowy Saturday Night postgame with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I came to the Distillery last Saturday night after an awesome Rochester Lancers game.

I was surprised to learn that the players, coaching staff, and cheerleaders came to this Distillery after every home game at Blue Cross Arena.

My waitress was Kalie and she was very polite and served my party in a timely fashion. The restaurant was cozy with all the natural hardwood and festive holiday lights.

I look forward to returning after my next Rochester Lancers game and having a meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Distillery Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Henrietta, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Distillery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Distillery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.