We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continental Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Max of Eastman Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Max of Eastman Place
387 E Main St, Rochester, NY 14604-2125
585-697-0491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #344 of 1,095 restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Continental Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There are two sides to Max's, the main dining room and the bar, which is reminiscent of a small European bistro in feel. There is something for everyone here. The offerings are beautifully presented and tasty and the service friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    11
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thorold, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went as a group of friends and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experience. The service was friendly and professional (perhaps a tad slow) and the good was delicious. Some of us ordered appetizers (mussels and salad) and these were really good. Those who did not still received a complimentary salad starter. The entrees were very good and the meat cooked as everyone had ordered it. I had the duck and it was really well done, melting in my mouth. We shared desserts. I had an apple crisp with a friend and it was really good. The portions are good but not overwhelming (although the friend who had the steak frites had too much). They also had a great selection of wines.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I enjoyed lunch at Max’s, while visiting friends in Rochester. Perfect preparation of seasonal ingredients, red beet cured salmon and pasta carbonara were simple, but elegantly. Well designed menu. The staff seemed versed in the wine menu and helped us choose a slightly oaky chardonnay to pair with our lunch. Pleasant and quiet dining room even when busy. We will be back for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Tough Pork Chop!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family and friends dined here over the weekend for the special occasion of my husband's birthday. We selected this restaurant because in the past the food was well above average for a Rochester restaurant. We were sorely disappointed with the food quality especially the overcooked and tough pork chop that my husband was served, that was followed by another tough but well cooked pork chop (to replace the original chop) - what a waste. Our other dining companion ordered the duck and it was suspected that the duck had been previously frozen - not something you would expect at a restaurant of this caliber (at least historically). I had the stripped bass and while the fish itself was good the over seasoned corn that it was served in masked every other flavor on the dish. The service was very good however it could not make up for the experience of the less than average food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Maybe not on Monday's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Had dinner with a couple friends on a Monday night and the meal was ok but not inspired. I have eaten at Max's many times and it was the first time I thought it was not worth the $$$. It could be a place to pass on Monday's when the chef/owner is not working.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max of Eastman Place also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Max of Eastman Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max of Eastman Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.