We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great baked goods....breakfast not so much...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corner Bakery Cafe

Corner Bakery Cafe
3300 Monroe Avenue, Rochester, NY 14618
585-662-5684
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #414 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Healthy, Bagels, Café, Bistro, Pasta, Soups, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Fresh & delicious breakfast, lunch, dinner & catering, we're dedicated to keeping you happy in your Corner of the world.
Rochester, New York, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great baked goods....breakfast not so much...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This chain has great baked goods....creative flavor combinations and attractive presentation. I went there for breakfast today and had the French Toast scrambler. Eggs were fine, French Toast was completely dried out as was the chicken apple sausage. Also not for tea drinkers....minimal selection offered. Service was fine. We unwisely sat by a door and froze every time it opened. Nice atmosphere but maybe not for breakfast. Have a brownie instead.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My sister in law brought my kids and I to lunch here. The food was fresh and really good. The customer service was outstanding, thanks to Kiana. I have two picky eaters and she was very accmodating and friendly. I have recommended this cafe to family and plan to eat here again. Thanks Kiana!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
1,516 reviews 1,516 reviews
995 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
“Really nice place, especially for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

While me wife and I had stopped into this bakery-restaurant in the past, I had not. I was pleasantly surprised; it is a bread-soup-sandwich-salad restaurant the really caters most to the lunch crowd. The menu focuses on the sandwiches that use their home-baked bread, as well as on the soups and sandwiches that folks tend to favor for a midday repast.

The counter service means that meals are service quickly, and waitresses bring your meals to your table while you get your own soda-service drinks. I had a soup-and-sandwich combination, with half an egg salad sandwich and a cup (not a bowl) of chili. I have a pretty healthy appetite, and this meal filled me for the rest of the afternoon.

The restaurant itself is very pleasant inside, with wood tones, and comfortable seating (tables and booths). The restaurant is in the front of the Pittsford Place Mall, with access from both the street as well as inside the mall itself. It was a vey nice visit, and I will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford (town), New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Casual & cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Rochester branch of this nationally known cafe is perfect for a casual meal (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack). Place your order/pay at the counter, get your own coffee, tea, or soft drink, & wait at your chosen table for your food to be served. The menu is quite extensive with lots of salads, sandwiches, soups, pasta dishes, breakfast selections & bakery items. Fancier coffee drinks & smoothies are also available. My favorite menu items include baked potato soup, tuna salad, mac & cheese, & tomato/fresh mozzarella sandwich on ciabatta. The coffee (including decaf) is very good. Though casual, the atmosphere is cozy. Booths & tables are arranged in such a way, that the restaurant is not generally noisy, even when crowded.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very, Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have to say everything I tried at this restaurant has been because I had a free coupon. Everything I have eaten here is been very, very good. The mac and cheese with bacon was simply the best. They give you a slice of herbed bread which is so flavorful. All their bake goods I have tried are really out of this world. This is a great little place to try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Bakery Cafe also viewed

Victor, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Corner Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.