We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of the High Falls, but the beer is plain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Genesee Brew House

Genesee Brew House
25 Cataract St., Rochester, NY
+1 585-263-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Webster, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best view of the High Falls, but the beer is plain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you want a great summer location to bring people to Rochester this is it. The view of the High Falls is amazing, better than the bridge even. There's outdoor seating and rooftop seating. We came for the beer but my sister in law was hungry so they got a BLT sandwich. It was the thickest bacon we've seen on a BLT sandwich, probably 3/16 to 1/4 inch thick. My only issue is the beer. The Genesse craft beer is still rather plain, like higher quality Genny. Even the Honey Brown is plain tasting. I'm not an IPA only person so I'm not looking for hops so that's not the issue. Either way I'd bring everyone back here. Service was good and quick at the bar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Destination lunch or dinner date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I love going down to the Genesee Brew House. This last time I got the tour and learned a lot. Then I bought the samples for $2 and tried four of their beers. Great deal! (and some of that money always goes to a local charity)
Enjoyed the gift shop and the displays and then had lunch with my out-of-town friend. It's incredible to watch the 100 ft. High Falls as you are eating and the food is good. But the trip wouldn't be complete without a hike up the stairs to the roof. Wow. Don't miss the Rochester sky line, trains and all, over High Falls and the Genesee River.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We ate an early dinner here on a Friday evening. We didn't have reservations so if we wanted to sit outside, the wait would be 30-45 minutes (not horrible). We didn't mind sitting inside so were seated right away. The place is big and made of brick.. This translates to loud. Have the pretzels for your appetizer....worth the carbs, I guarantee! The menu is dated, salads, sandwiches, full dinners, burgers all quite good and the food is plentiful.

The food? Good. The service? Not so much. Our waitress was not particularly attentive, we had to ask for beverage refills, the bill, etc...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good service, smallish servings, overpriced beer.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

While the service was very good, the servings for a $9 lunch were ridiculously small and left us hungry very shortly thereafter. The food tasted good, there was just so little of it.

Then there's the beer prices. Considering it's their beer, and considering it's their beer, the price of a single beer is the price of a six-pack.

I understand markup, but I can get better beer on tap from anyplace that is NOT associated with a brewery for less than they charge for the low-end beer they literally brew right there.

Can't see ever returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for locals and visitors.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have taken out-of-town guests here several times. It's a fun place with good food and service in a historic section of downtown Rochester. You can eat on the deck or sit up on the rooftop for after-work happy hours and get a great view of the falls and the city. Rochester is the only city in the U.S. with a 100' waterfall in the middle of downtown!
The hot pretzels are wonderful, burgers and salads are also very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genesee Brew House also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Genesee Brew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genesee Brew House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.