We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but Noisey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony D's Coal Fired Pizza

Tony D's Coal Fired Pizza
288 Exchange Blvd., Rochester, NY
585-340-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,095 restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Flushing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food but Noisey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a group of eight and were seated at our reservation time. The server did a nice job. Service was a little slow, but they were very busy. The appetizers were enough for a meal by themselves. We then enjoyed good main courses. My concern was the noise level. But I think this was planned for the younger crowd.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    47
    33
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for many reasons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Perfect for a casual night (drinks and apps) or to celebrate a special event ($40 for a filet, but, worth it). Love to sit at the chef's table or outside to enjoy the view. Best arancini and cannolis in town - and I have tried many!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and "upbeat" atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Great food and staff are attentive but music and crowd noise can be loud at night, lunches quieter and a great view of the best of Rochester's Genesee River. We really enjoy eating at chef's table and they have some really great menu items!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Valentine's Date Hit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's hard to give a restaurant a full 5 stars unless it is over the top in every area. For me, because Tony D's is closer to a 5 than a 4, I tip my rating up instead of back. We made Tony D's our Valentine date destination this year, and we were not sorry at all. We got there early, anticipating a wait, as they don't take reservations (at least for 2 guests). They actually gave us the choice of being seated right away, or having a drink at the bar first, and then being seated. I appreciated the choice. The food was excellent, and through the suggestion of some friends, we tried their appetizer meatballs. Oh. My. Gosh. They are truly the real deal. Our wait person, a very personable young woman, told us that it took her one year to get up the courage to try the meatballs there. According to her, "no one would come close to making meatballs like my Gram." Apparently they did come close ("as good or better!" she said). If you do order them, be advised, they are HUGE. My husband and I agreed that next time, we might just split a salad and order of meatballs (2 meatballs per order), and we will be satisfied. The wood fired pizzas are really REALLY good, and we have tried most of the wood-fired pizza places in the area. I would put them up there with the best (Gatehouse is good too!).Back to the service. We asked our waitress if she minded if we lingered over drinks first, and then ordered. She was perfect with her timing. Basically, everything we asked for was not only granted, but added to....We received a complimentary after-dinner drink (like an ice wine). Okay - so food, service, oh yeah, location - you can't get better than the river/downtown view of Cornhill Landing. Good job, Tony D's. We hope you stay the course.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

When I was planning my trip to Rochester (from California) & looking for a restaurant (using Trip Advisor) to take a friend to who was driving from Buffalo, I chose Tony D's based on the name, which had "sentimental value" to my friend & I (long story involving a 70's teen idol). I knew, when when we arrived & there was a 1/2 hr wait at noon on a Friday, I had made a good choice! The food (2 of us had pizzas; the third had the special hamburger of the day), ambiance, view & waitress were all outstanding, which was icing on the cake for a reunion of friends who hadn't seen each other in over 35 years!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony D's Coal Fired Pizza also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Tony D's Coal Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony D's Coal Fired Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.