We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location food was disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tap & Table - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tap & Table
284 Exchange Blvd, Rochester, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pittsford, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location food was disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Really can't beat that patio for a relaxing dinner spot. First time there, We had clams, calamari and the home made sausage. All dishes came out cold. Don't know if it was the server or the kitchen but it seemed like the dishes had sat awhile before being served. Waiter did check back after 20 minutes but didn't seem to take us seriously when we said all the dishes were cold. cold clams need no other comment. The flash fried calamari, was anything but. It was heavily breaded, deep fried and over sauced.

On the up side a good beer selection and interesting cocktail menu..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“WOW!! Best Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We both had a burger $12.00 with hand cut fries. Outstanding added bleu cheese for $2.00 more. So as you can see kind of pricey. Quality of the food was great!!!! Real chucks of cheese. Burger cooked perfect. We also had the peanut butter fudge brownie $6.00. Great!!! Also a very wide selection of beers. The list was many pages long.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food; Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I would rate this restaurant higher based on the food, but the service was very poor. I had dinner with 2 friends on the outdoor patio on a beautiful Spring evening. My friend went inside looking for a server at least 15 minutes after we'd been seated. Ironically our server was training a new server (with the same name), but I hope she doesn't pick up any of her bad habits. We placed both our drink and dinner orders at the same time to move things along. My friends were given each other's beer orders, but they figured it out after a few sips and switched glasses. Our dinners came promptly and were very tasty. My Spring Pesto pasta dish was not quite warm enough and I could have used salt and bread, but no one ever came over to ask if we needed anything. In fact, the server commented "Let me know if you need anything" when serving our entrees, but we never saw her again until she slipped the bill onto the table and scooted away. We paid with cash and got up to leave after waiting around awhile. The server and server-in-training came outside and practically ran over to the table when they saw us exiting the restaurant from outside. I'm not sure why the service was so poor because there appeared to be a lot of staff working that night and they weren't that crowded. With some better staff-training, this could be a very good restaurant because the food was decent and the riverside setting was beautiful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!! Great food, great atmosphere, great service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We ordered the trio dip for an app and it was delicious...along with the jalapeno cheddar ale soup, which was out of this world. For lunch I ordered the black bean burger and it was also delicious. I will definitely be coming back when it's warmer so we can sit outside!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellant Service, Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

On a visit from Richmond, Va I was brought to this charming gastropub by friends. The service is friendly-professionl and the meal was a delight. Will hope to come back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap & Table also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tap & Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.