We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bike trail along Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durand Eastman Park

Durand Eastman Park
Lake Shore Blvd & Zoo Rd, Rochester, NY 14602
l 585 753-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 43 Attractions in Rochester
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
rochester,new york
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great bike trail along Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was here last week with friends and we biked along the new bike trail. It is paved and there. Very scenic. It is a take off spot to go on trails into the city and eventuallt to the Erie Canal. Several restaurants in the area called Sea Breeze.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Municipal Golf Course in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not that there are a lot of municipal golf courses in the Greater Rochester Area, but Durand blows the competition (which are technically operated by the same people) out of the water. $17 to walk 18 holes is a great deal anywhere. Add that to the fact that this is a Robert Trent Jones designed tricky and technical course, and you have an absolute steal. What it lacks in distance, it makes up for in attitude. Each hole has its own character, and no two holes are the same.

If you're looking to golf on a budget, and are bored with the same goat farm layout, take a trip to Durand this summer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“the outlook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Man, I drove by and laughed the last time I was there in August before that it was 30 years ago and the things we did and shouldn't have done, yikes my kids may read this enough said. LOL

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have lived in the area for many years and have come to Durand to enjoy the beach and the walking trails throughout the woods and surrounding pond area, very beautiful scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I have strolled thru this park on many occasions, usually with our young dog. Its beautiful, relaxing and quiet, far enough away from road sounds and the hustle and bustle of nearby "civilization". There are lakes, ponds and streams, lots of trails, gardens and trees of all ages. If you want a snack, meal or a coffee when your hike is finished, Seabreeze is right around the corner and the Port of Rochester is not that far away. Highly recommended for a spirit lifting experience.(PS - if you walk your dog there as we do, keep him/her on a leash; the police ticket free roaming dogs.)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durand Eastman Park also viewed

 

Been to Durand Eastman Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durand Eastman Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.