We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our regular lunch place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raj Mahal Restaurant

Raj Mahal Restaurant
368 Jefferson Road, Rochester, NY 14623
(585) 730-7360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 1,107 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our regular lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We eat here regularly for the buffet lunch. It's a bit more expensive than some other Indian buffets, but the food is good and the service friendly. A real plus is that they don't pre-sweeten the chai, so those of us who prefer it unsweetened can still enjoy it. The people are really nice. The dosas are a bit skimpily filled, but that may be authentic. Bottom line is that we wouldn't go back week after week if we were not satisfied. And we do.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food is authentic and great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Pros: - The food taste good.
- They have a different variety of Indian dishes from north, and south India.
- The sweets were tasty and right amount of sugar was there.
- Tea was also nice and authentic with spices in it.
- The inner decorations made food and environment more authentic
Cons:
- They need more staff
- The naan was like rubber because it was seating in the buffet for long time
- They need more vegetarian curries in buffet, as when we visited they had only two vegetarian curries which were very easy to cook and would not be worth eating at an Indian restaurant.
- A little expensive for the buffet for the number of food varieties they have.

Overall:
We had a good time in side the restaurant. The decorations and the furniture was perfect for an Indian restaurant. I would recommend for any one who is looking for real authentic Indian food taste. They have other Indian restaurant in the area out of which this is the only Indian restaurant that I found the food to be authentic and clean.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Good Food but Needs Work...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Like others we used to be regulars at the old spot on Monroe and since then we have frequented most of the other Indian places in town. The food (chicken makhani and chicken korma) at the new Raj was good but the portions seemed a bit small. The ginger cauliflower soup was quite tasty and the garlic nan was excellent. So that was the good part of the visit but the service was spotty and needs improvement. And the atmosphere was morgue-like even on a Friday night with a dozen tables filled... must just be the overly large space.

Not sure we will drive back across town when India House is closer and better unless there is a coupon...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Consistently good, flavorful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were thrilled when Raj Mahal reopened, and in the (almost) year since it's return, we've gone dozens of times and had terrific chicken, seafood, and vegetarian dishes. (I don't recommend the beef dishes, however.) The buffet is fantastic and one of the only ones that run all day Sunday until 7PM. The buffet is also updated daily so that you have the opportunity to try many dishes. I found a new favorite in the mango chicken and the fish pakora is a go-to appetizer. The traditional Indian dishes are better than the Indian-Chinese selections, but it's nice to have the opportunity to try such a variety. The only small complaint we have is the service--the staff is very nice but still seems to be finding their feet in terms of refilling drinks, seating, clearing, and knowing the menu well. Nevertheless, everyone has always been pleasant, and we consider Raj our favorite place to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The new owner is a celebrated Chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This restaurant, with the new name of Raj Mahal, is now under the ownership of Chef Sud, and she has brought a wonderful sophistication to this location that was missing before.
Having only eaten there twice, so far, I won't attempt to get into the various items on the menu. There are many choices and many Indian styles; from South to North and regional dishes as well.
If you want authentic Indian Cuisine prepared by a celebrated Chef, you need to try this restaurant.
We were pleasantly surprised and will make this a regular stop whenever we are in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj Mahal Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Raj Mahal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raj Mahal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.