We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
290 Miracle Mile Drive, Rochester, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 1,107 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jefferson Road
Rochester
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you really want a good experience here, go for the cheese and chocolate definitely ! The salad is good, the entrees, well ........ If you are going with a significant other, they do have intimate seating for you. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eh--Overpriced, Buffalo Location is Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Melting Pot is a unique experience. You sit at a table with a fondue pot and heating element in the center of the table, and you get to choose from four courses; a cheese fondue (table has to agree), salads (individual), entree (individual, but the table has to agree on a cooking method) and a chocolate fondue (table has to agree). For the entree, each person is given a plate with bite-sized pieces of seasoned raw food--veggies, meat, or seafood--and using the fondue forks, you cook each bite in a broth of the table's choosing.

After being impressed with the Buffalo location, my boyfriend and I took my mother to this one. The service, which is what really makes the Buffalo one stand out, was not present here. The hostess, when explaining the menu to us since my mom was a first-timer, sounded like an impatient school teacher, having a frustrated tone when we hadn't turned the page quickly enough for her liking. The guy who put together our fondue at our table was fun and chatty, but our waiter was only OK, also seeming a little impatient. I'm not sure why, because the place was deserted, on a Saturday evening! We were a little early in the dinner hour, but not ridiculously so. While I'm willing to give the benefit of the doubt and chalk the service up to a bad night on the staff's part, the empty tables may indicate that this wasn't a one-time deal. Who knows? I probably won't be going back to find out.

Dinner is very filling, but if you go for the full four-course experience (cheese fondue, salad, entree, chocolate fondue) it will run you about $40 per person. If you still want a filling experience, try just opting for the cheese and chocolate courses and save some money.

Dress is generally nice, but not formal, and the atmosphere is nice and modern, although not remarkable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More than just cheese fondue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Visited Melting Pot to check out the new menu. Now you can order a la carte or select three entree items for $19.95. You select the cooking style (I opted for the broth) and once it is heated use the fondue forks to "cook" everything. The entrees also come with a nice selection of vegetables. I selected the salmon, shrimp, and chicken which is nicely complimented by five dipping sauces. For additional privacy asked to be seated in the "lover's lane" section. The waiter was very helpful and the manager made a point of checking on each of the guests dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“a unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The fondue experience was a lot of fun. Our waitress was very attentive and we had very good service. The chocolate dessert was the best! Choice of chocolate with fruit, cheese cake, brownies, etc. to dunk! A little pricey, but delicious!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“empty tables but turned away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Showed up at 6 pm on a Thursday. Told that we needed reservations. I asked about the 8 tables that were empty. Told they had reservations for them. We ate at the bar and when we left none of the tables had been used.

food was ok but as my Dad would say. "Been there twice. First and last.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.