We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway Location in the Heart of Rochester” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn to your Saves list
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   35 Argyle Street, Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
Depew, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway Location in the Heart of Rochester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to the Edward Harris House B&B for a weekend getaway and could not have been more pleased with the entire experience. From making reservations to checkout, we were impressed with the friendly, fast responses we received to inquiries and the impeccable accommodations from top to bottom. The house itself is incredible - beautiful, with the perfect antique charm. Each room is given the care and attention to detail that makes the atmosphere in each unique. Great touches of home - with photographs, books, and games - mixed with the classic elegance of a beautiful old estate. Our car received "valet treatment," the room was better than the pictures online, and the food was incredible. Manny made us delicious ham and asparagus crepes with cheese that were out of this world. Breakfast was served in the quaint dining room with a variety of teas and coffee, fresh fruit, and the option of toast, cereal, yogurt, etc. The bathroom was clean and stocked with amenities and the candles around the room offered a romantic atmosphere. The innkeepers were personable, knowledgeable of the area, and flexible when it came to check-in and check-out times. The guest book in the room allowed me to read the comments of other travelers and leave my own - it only confirmed what I already knew: this hidden gem in the middle of Rochester is everything you could ask for in a B&B. Great location - near museums and other points of interest, churches, great restaurants and lots of shopping, Not only would I recommend it to everyone looking for a weekend retreat (or longer!), but I'm already looking forward to my next stay at the Edward Harris House.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in the whole place. You'll be pleased wherever you stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Wow - what a wonderful review of our property! We are always looking for ways to improve both the Inn and the service. It seems that you have noticed! And for that the whole staff and myself thank you so much! We look forward to your return.All our best. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
47
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We were only in town for one night, and staying here was perfect. Beautiful old house, elegantly decorated, but also felt very homey. Very large bedroom, with desk/chaise so we could both get some work and reading done. Bathroom was spotless, had toiletries for us to use which was a nice touch. We didn't have much time, but the living room looked like it would a nice place to hang out if staying longer and tea/cookies were available. Most importantly for me, the park ave neighborhood is the loveliest part of Rochester, and staying in one of the old houses is the best way to make the most of the charm. The only cons are that the mattress could have been plusher and the walls were pretty thin.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property. We love the neighborhood as well!
We are terribly sorry you didn't like the mattress - it's a top of the line pillow top from Serta. We will be happy to check into that for you to see what the problem might be. Hope to see you both again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

From the moment we walked in the door we knew we were going to experience perfection. We were warmly greeted by Susan and then taken to our gorgeous and immaculate room. And there was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries awaiting us. The location was perfect and we were able to take the suggestion of our host and walk to a wonderful restaurant, Park Ave Pub, just a few blocks away. The George Eastman House is also an easy walk and we enjoyed seeing the beautiful decorations there.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would give it a five star rating. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Edward Harris House for two nights while in town for a teaching conference. I had a great stay and loved going back to a cozy room rather than a chain hotel after long days of presenting and attending workshops. The room was beautifully decorated with an en suite private bath. The neighborhood is charming and convenient to downtown Rochester. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was accommodating and so friendly. I look forward to making return trips in future years.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our second stay at the Edward Harris House Inn. We spent four nights this time during the week of Thanksgiving. It is right around the corner from my daughter's apartment and withing easy walking distance of restaurants on Park, the Eastman House on East Ave. and the museum on University. The room was spacious and appointed with all we needed. King size bed, great shower, comfortable reading chair and good lighting for reading. Breakfast was served at our convenience and was delicious. The French toast made from croissants were yummy. No need for lunch. Susan, Manny and Heather are excellent hosts and they see to every detail. I loved that there was a hot pot on the second floor landing so that I could have tea when I wanted it. We will stay there every time we visit Rochester.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinderhook, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a fantastic bed and breakfast. My husband and I stayed here on Friday night and will be back the next time we are in Rochester. I grew up in Rochester and never knew this place existed until recently. We were back in town to visit family and stayed in Emily's Suite. Our room was beautifully decorated and filled with comfy chairs, a desk and an extremely comfortable king bed. There were snacks and water upon our arrival and we felt very at home. Our bathroom had a lovely deep bathtub and plenty of fluffy towels and extra amenities. Every detail is thought of in this B&B and the owners clearly enjoy being hosts. Our breakfast the next day was delicious and we truly felt like we found a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We resevered here because it was closer to the venue and spectacularly much nicer between East and Park, then anywhere inside the loop.
This is an excellent location in Rochester, a very beautiful part of town. We had dinner around the corner on Park at Jine's on our way to the show. We walked, or you could call a cab, to see
Joe Bonamassa LIVE at the Rochester Theater tonight !
What a show! This B&B was the icing on the cake !

Room Tip: Our room # 2 has a name: Emily
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Address: 35 Argyle Street, Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.