We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, warm, cozy and comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Save Saved
You added A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   35 Argyle Street, Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
Estero, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful, warm, cozy and comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I visited Rochester and stayed at the Edward Harris House for four nights. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay immensely. From check-in to check-out, we were treated like royalty. The staff was friendly and willing to please. Our breakfast was serve in a beautiful dining room at the precise time we requested. It was delicious and the presentation was absolutely beautiful. Our room was spacious, immaculate, and completely stocked with plenty of towels and nice toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable. The house is spacious and beautifully decorated. We were also able to enjoy a large living room with a fireplace where we could relax and enjoy the quiet atmosphere anytime we pleased. Manny and Susan are wonderful hosts and really made our stay relaxing and memorable. We will definitely return and recommend
this inn to our family and friends. Thank you so much for all your hard work!!!
Ed and Maria L. Florida

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
40
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed one evening at the Edward Harris House, in the Emily Room which was lovely and accessorized to remind you of Paris. Room was furnished for comfort with lots of extra towels, nice toiletries, cute knick-knacks to convey homeyness. The house itself is beautifully decorated and offered many nice little touches - a carafe of coffee liqueur, jar of homemade cookies, bowl of pistachio nuts in the living room, an electric kettle for tea on the upstairs landing for guests in the evening, etc.

We would have given it five stars except that we had the feeling the Edward Harris may be starting to coast on its reputation. Our welcome upon arrival felt a little perfunctory, similar to what you might expect at a large hotel. Breakfast the next morning was good, but certainly not over the top. Our innkeeper was nowhere to be seen and the manager/housekeeper seemed harried as she rushed to get breakfast on the table and cater to the guests.

Room Tip: The Emily Room is quite small. Go for a king-size suite if you need space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demarest, N.J.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed for one night. Warm and inviting is the best way to describe this lovely B&B. Manny and Susan could not be more welcoming. Unfortunately I did not have breakfast but Manny was nice enough to make me coffee to go. I also had the pleasure of staying at the Inn on Broadway, which was lovely as well. Save some money and stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms ate lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for one evening while visiting the Eastman School of Music with our son. This is a lovely home, on a nice, quiet street in the cultural area, and is beautifully furnished and well maintained. We were greeted with a warm welcome after a long day of driving and sightseeing. Our room was large and airy, with plenty of room to add the roll away bed needed to accommodate the three of us in the room. Our room and large bathroom were immaculately clean, with high ceilings and extensive woodwork, there was not a single cobweb or speck of dust (the entire house is immaculate). The staircase is fantastic, and wonderfully decorated, and the living room is cozy and inviting with very tasteful furnishings including a breathtaking server. Breakfast is served in the formal dining room with plenty of options including various breads, fresh fruits, yogurt, great selection of teas, coffee, juice. Omelets were made to order with many choices of ingredients to add to the omelet. The little dogs are adorable, a home is not truly a home without pets. No worries if you have allergies or do not like pets, the little cuties are kept on the private side of the home but will be happy to see you if you want to say hello!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I came to Rochester the past two summers as our teenaged son was enrolled in a 2-week jazz music camp at Eastman School of Music. My husband found this B&B on-line and thought it looked wonderful- (they had large suites which could accommodate all 3 of us nicely.) We were not disappointed. No kitsch, doilies or pink stuffed animals-on-beds here!
This is a beautiful, elegantly furnished B&B. Susan and Manny, the owners, and the kitchen manager are all absolutely charming. Our rooms were large, and the bed sheets and linens luxurious. We had an air-conditioner, and a ceiling fan. It was QUIET! And there were yummy treats and bottled water free of charge in the suites :)
Without a doubt, we shall be back!

Room Tip: OOPS! No pool-didn't mean to click it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words. It is nice to know that ours and our staffs efforts are noticed and appreciated. We so appreciate it! Not all days can be perfect - but we like to think that we try to make yours a little more perfect! We hope that we see you on a future trip to Rochester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENSBORO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our room and bath were immaculate. But the thing to swoon over is breakfast! Manny is more than accommodating. He's a cheerful, friendly guy who makes a superb breakfast. We had to leave early to catch a train, but he insisted on provisioning us with French toast, berries, juice, coffee on our last morning. This is an excellent b&b, close to the Eastman mansion, which is very interesting to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My new husband and I rented out every room at the Edward Harris House for our families to join us for our elopement ceremony. Us and our families were treated like royalty and had an amazing time. We stayed in Garden Suite and then our families were in the others. The rooms themselves are all uniquely laid out with beautiful details and amazingly comfortable beds and linens. The rooms are clean and well taken care of. Breakfast for the two mornings was awesome. Susan and Heather took care of us and our family for sure. Our ceremony was in the beautiful garden outside and Susan could not have picked a better reading and vows for us. All of the normal "wedding" stress people have- I didn't. Every detail, from the getting ready in the morning to when we left in a limo for dinner in Pittsford was perfect. Our families are still raving about how wonderful the Edward Harris House and their staff was to us. Everyone had an extremely memorable and positive experience. My new husband and I cannot say enough good things!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique in decor, layout but all are BEAUTIFUL. We chose which rooms our family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Address: 35 Argyle Street, Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.