We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn to your Saves list
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   35 Argyle Street, Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
West Leyden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My new husband and I decided to elope, while searching for places to go close to home we found the Edward Harris House B&B. We called and asked many questions and received quick, thorough responses. We decided to book a day and Brian did all of the emailing and talking with Heather the assistant inn keeper. She was nervous about it being the first wedding that she had ever planned solo because the owners were on vacation. Long story short....she did an AMAZING job and we couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful, the wedding was spectacular, the flowers, the cake, and all of the little touches meant so much to us. I would highly recommend staying here and enjoying the what they have to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
46
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed recently for a Girls Weekend, and although the room was nice, we would not recommend the B&B…mainly because they forgot the importance of the second ‘B’. If you are going for the Bed, fine, but if you’re going for the Breakfast, don’t…especially if you are a Vegetarian.

Two pancakes with a strawberry on the side was the entire breakfast... no muffins, no fruit cup, just that. The lack of effort didn’t go unnoticed and it didn’t make us feel important.

Both mornings the breakfasts were very under-whelming. It’s pretty standard for all B&B’s to have scones or muffins to start, but they had nothing (even though their website says all breakfasts are served with muffins or scones). They did have bread on the breakfast buffet (with a toaster) but it was still in the store-bought package. Not much presentation. For breakfast we had a small cup of fruit, which was nice, but then just an omelet. We make omelets at my home all the time, so it wasn’t anything fancy or special. The next morning, the cook was running late so we literally sat at the table just waiting for 20 minutes…no scones, no fruit cup, nothing on the table…we had to ask for Orange Juice because they were running behind and didn’t bring it out. Again, the buffet table did have sliced white bread and jams and yogurt cups sitting on ice, but when you pay so much money, you expect to have a yogurt parfait in a fancy dish and warm muffins. We sat there waiting and we didn’t even get a glass of fruit this time – they went straight to the main course which was two pancakes with bananas on top and one strawberry on the side. That’s it??? Really? That was my whole breakfast experience?

As a Vegetarian, I don’t expect them to cater to my eating style, but it was the first of many B&B experiences where it felt like they just didn’t want to put the effort in to make something special. Usually the main dish is a quiche or frittata or casserole and there is some type of side dish to go along with it. It was a disappointing breakfast experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudeeq, Manager at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Management has looked into the circumstances of this guests displeasure. It appears that there were items on the buffet that were purchased specifically in keeping with this guests written desire as a Vegetarian. Experience has told us that sweet items are generally not request or eaten by our many vegetarian clients. It has been our experience that our Vegan and Vegetarian guests in general do not eat large quantites of sugary foods. Offerings of whole grain products, yogurts, fruits, berries and nuts are incorporated in all of our vegetarian meals. We are always happy to provide special requests to all our guests specific dietary needs. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Edward Harris House is a wonderful B+B--perfectly decorated for its age and character, spotless clean, quiet, comfortable. The staff were very helpful with check-in and check-out, and made sure to ask about restrictions and preferences for breakfast (I suggested that french toast would be nice, and sure enough, that appeared on the menu). The B+B is in the Park Avenue area of Rochester, a lovely neighborhood. Park Avenue has many popular restaurants and little boutiques; the science museum and Eastman House are within easy walking distance. It's a pleasnt 2 mile walk to the downtown/convention area (there's bus service as well), so it's a nice alternative to staying in bland convention accommodations. If I go to Rochester again, I think I'll drive--it's handy to have a car, and the taxi from the airport is ridiculously expensive ($35 one way) for a 15 minute ride (though the drivers were very professional and friendly).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This B & B has a very friendly staff and owners. The location is great - near many great restaurants. Unfortunately, we had problems with our room. It was beautifully decorated.The sink was plugged and the shower door didn't open and close properly. There was someone that came in to look at it but couldn't fix it. The next day the breakfast was interesting. They had bacon and french toast. Other B&B's usually ask give a choice between a small selection. There was no choice here or even a mention of what dietary restrictions there were. Some of the granola and other dried fruit was a bit old and stale.
For the amount we paid for the room you would think that the owners would at least refund some of our money since the sink wasn't functional and really did inconvenience us. They didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. What bothered me was when we left the next day they knew about these problems but still had the room available to book and didn't suggest another room when at the time of booking they were available. Not impressed with that at all. This kind of ruined a romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: Choose one of the modern decor rooms. Check the sink, toilet and shower when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Just a quick note to let the guests know that we had our contractor in on Monday to fix the items on their list with the bathroom. We appreciate their candidness and are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused by these annoyances. Although the rooms and baths have all been recently updated or renovated - it is an 1896 building with all it's wonderful flaws that happen from time to time. We had already sent them a gift certificate to be used for another stay in the future and hope they will accept our offer to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was an excellent B & B. The room, common rooms, breakfasts, and location were ideal. A real positive experience.

The neighborhood was wonderful, filled with stately old houses. It was a short walk to Park Avenue with many restaurants, coffee houses, etc., and was also a short walk to the Eastman House. Easy access to downtown and the Geva Theater.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I was the matron of honor of the bridal party who got ready here. It was such a great afternoon! We arrived and got settled in the room with all of our things. Soon lunch was ready and we went downstairs to dine on chicken salad croissants, salad and fruit kebabs. So delicious the bride even finished her meal!
The Inn is gorgeously restored and very elegant. The staff was very helpful allowing me to check in early as my husband and I were staying there that night. We stayed in room 2, Emily's Suite. The room is huge!
Breakfast in the morning was great, too. We were seated with the new Mr. and Mrs. and Susan was a wonderful hostess.
The neighborhood is good for walking. Would definitely come back for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We had the most wonderful wedding weekend at Edward Harris House. It was just me (the bride) staying there on Friday night, with my bridal party, hair & makeup stylist, and photographer arriving Saturday morning for "getting ready shots." After making me a special breakfast as I was too nervous/excited to eat too rich of a meal, the staff continued to be accommodating and kept checking on us to see if we needed anything, offering water, fresh fruit, etc. They are all incredibly warm people who are genuinely excited for their guests' special occasions. And the food is absolutely delicious, definitely the best food I've ever had at a B&B (I ate everything on my plate the next morning!). Manny is quite the chef! My husband and I stayed in the room together on our wedding night and definitely plan to return on a future anniversary. The whole experience was just perfect, the room we stayed in (the Emily Suite) adorable and the perfect backdrop for photos, the bed & linens comfortable... everything was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Address: 35 Argyle Street, Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.