We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn to your Saves list
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   35 Argyle Street, Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

A perfect place for a beautiful fall weekend or anytime. Susan and Manny (and the pups) were all so accommodating and the breakfast was wonderful. Every room is to die for--Susan has a fabulous flair for decorating. Niagara Falls is a day trip as is wine tasting in the Finger Lakes. We will definitely be returning, hopefully in June.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
47
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

I lived in Rochester for a year, so I luckily knew in advance that downtown is not the place to stay, because there's not much down there. We went for a conference that partially took place at the Eastman House, which was in walking distance, and we were also able to walk to all the restaurants on Park. This is a perfectly situated B&B. On top of that, it's gorgeous. Susan was very helpful, booking us into 3 different rooms for 2 nights each so that we could stay there since none of their rooms was empty for a solid 6 nights. So, we got to take a nice little tour of the inn because of that. All of the rooms were exquisitely decorated, and though we only had time for the "full breakfast" which is served at 9 am, once, the continental breakfast for the early-birds was the best I've ever had. 3 types of cereal, breads and bagels, 2 types of pastries, yogurt, and something special like quiches one morning, scrambled eggs and sausage another. I think this is THE place to stay for anyone going to Rochester.

  • Liked — the location, the rooms, the breakfast
  • Disliked — We occasionally struggled with the wireless connection
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We've been staying here since our son was a high school senior interested in RIT, and now he has graduated from there! Susan and Manny are delightful hosts; friendly, attentive, kind, yet low key. They have given us many wonderful recommendations for absolutely anything we ask. The inn is beautiful and always changing. This IS a special place!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

Gorgeous old home. Very nicely decorated, with large antique furniture. All the rooms are very spacious. There are lots of nice extra touches like a basket of snack foods and water and toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room at individual tables and there was lots of delicious food. My only complaint was I reserved a room with a king size bed and when we got there they had given that room to someone else. We were put in a room with a queen size bed. It was lovely but I was expecting the larger bed. The owners apologized and offered us a special to return again. We certainly plan to return. This is the niceset Inn I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

On the way up to Canada, my boyfriend and I spent one night in Rochester and stayed at the Edward Harris House Inn. We had a wonderful time there. The house is decorated in a modern Victorian style. We stayed in this great room that had its own little sitting area off the main bedroom area. The bed was very comfortable and even had a footstool leading up to it because it was so big.
The location was convenient because it was down the street from a fun neighborhood with lots of cafes and little shops. We drove into the main part of town for dinner and nightlife.
The host was very friendly and helpful. Because we were the only guests that night, she worked with our schedule. We were able to have breakfast later in the morning and she was also happy to accomodate our later check-out.
I would recommend this inn to anyone. We had a great time.

  • Liked — Host, breakfast, tasteful decor
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

Instead of making the grueling one-day trip to Niagara Falls from Boston, we decided to make a stop in Rochester. We found this B&B on TripAdvisor, and the previous reviews were right on. The inn is located off Park Avenue, and the museums, little boutiques and restaurants reminded us a bit of both Boston and Savannah neighborhoods.

The B&B was very clean, and filled with an eclectic mix of antiques. Our room had a king bed and a wonderful shower. It was a little cramped in the bathroom, but we understand that there are plans to expand. Susan was a wonderful hostess, and made us feel at home. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, and it was served in an elegan dining room. We would recommend this inn for a relaxing stay in Rochester.

  • Liked — value
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2004

Although we live close by, we had a very special reason for celebrating and chose The Edward Harris House based on what friends had told us about the Inn.

From the moment we checked in, the staff and owners ( Manny and Susan) went out of their way to make us feel special. Fresh flowers in our room, a wonderful cheese and fruit tray in the room - we couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate.

We highly recommend this Inn and plan to return in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Address: 35 Argyle Street, Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.