We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn On Broadway

Save Saved
You added Inn On Broadway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn On Broadway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Broadway, Rochester, NY 14607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Rochester
Hamden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My review title says it all!
Rooms are huge! Staff fantastic!
The restaurant was excellent. Great parking. Huge bath too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
38
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

From our first call to the Inn on Broadway we were hooked. The woman who answered worried that we were coming from the warm south and said she would put us in a room with a fireplace because we would need it! She was helpful and informative. We parked in the ample parking lot right next to the hotel when we arrived. A few minutes later we were in our room, fireplace already turned on for us! The check in process was short and friendly. The restaurant was closed but the young woman behind the desk gave us several choices for a late lunch in the neighborhood. The hotel is situated within walking distance to several pubs, a great coffee house, a wonderful independent movie theatre and the Geva Theatre. The restaurant in the hotel looks great and our continental breakfast (included with the room) was very good and served in the restaurant. The bar in the hotel is very inviting and the bartender, Jackie, makes drinks, serves them and also brings food from the restaurant should you want a little snack - or a complete dinner. Everyone we encountered was helpful, friendly and very professional. We asked how far it was to Niagara Falls and the woman behind the desk printed instructions for us. We had never been to Rochester and I have to say that everyone we encountered was equally friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful few days in the hotel and would never consider staying anywhere else should our travels bring us back to Rochester.

Room Tip: I would ask for a fireplace room if you are going in the winter. It really made a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Hard to imagine that Rochester has a better hotel. This 25 room establishment has rooms that feel like a very high quality B&B. Each one is different; the mattresses are good, the bed linens and the towels are first rate. I had a nice corner room with a fireplace. Very pleasant, with a big leather easy chair. If you need to work, though, be sure and request a room with a desk. Not all have it. The bathrooms were good, clean with Kohler fixtures. The hotel's public spaces are more substantial than you would expect of such a small hotel. More like the private club is once was. The restaurant is excellent, although expensive. Room service, again unusual for 25 rooms, until 10pm. All is all, a wonderful find.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roch cha cha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here as a getaway. What a nice boutique hotel...very charming! Upgraded to the deluxe which had a very big walk in shower with several shower heads. Bed extremely comfortable. Food at Tournedos restaurant was superb. This is a pricy hotel but definetely well worth every penny. If you are looking for an average run of the mill hotel don't stay here. If you want to have awesome amenities and comforts paired with a charming ambience...this place is for you. Located in a convienent section of Rocheste… bars restaurants and coffee shop within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

After making reservations for the same two-bedroom corner suite on the 3d floor that we had in 2010, we confirmed the arrangements through email and upon arrival. Despite this, we were taken to a small one bedroom room with one double bed on the 4th floor for the same price. A bit cramped for an adult with two adolescents shouldn't they think?

I received various explanations ranging from "I decided to move you because there is a wedding tomorrow night" to "Deluxe last year meant a suite of 2 rooms, this year it means 1 room." to the manager herself telling me that the "adjoining room" noted on my reservation didn't mean I had the adjoining room --- just that there was one.

In the end, we did get the suite we (thought) we reserved, for the price we (thought) we reserved, according to what we (thought) our paper documentation said. However, we were left feeling as though staff thought we tried to pull a fast one on them rather than the other way around. While we appreciated management honoring what (we thought) our written reservation said, the manner in which the hotel did it left a very nasty spin on what would otherwise have been a very nice stay.

We hope this bit of unpleasantness was rooted in a genuine mistake of the hotel (or guest), but the moral of this story is BEWARE THAT YOUR RESERVATION LISTS TWO SEPARATE ROOMS IF YOU RESERVE A SUITE. Because we otherwise enjoyed our stay for a 2nd consecutive year, we'll consider this hotel again while being very aware to avoid any future misunderstandings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Inn on business September 7-9, 2011. My husband came to Rochester early and the receptionist actually went up to the room to see if it was ready for him to check in. For my late night arrival, they knew who I was and where I was going, so no hassle waiting at the front desk. The breakfast is simple but filling with quiche each morning and other choices like yogurt and pastries.

We did have a chance to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, Tournedos. It was a pleasant surprise with a great wine list, excellent steaks and fish, and top-notch service.

The room was a good size for two people and the bed quite comfortable. The bathroom amenities were nice and the towels very soft. I loved the little Keurig coffee maker that made single cups of tea and coffee. Here are two recommendations to make it a 5 star in my book: 1. The bathroom needs a make-up mirror because it is hard to apply makeup or put in contacts in the regular mirror. 2. The room needs a full length mirror so you can see your whole outfit before you leave the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We've spent just one night at the Inn and would definitely come back. The rooms are nice and worth a stay (deluxe rooms come with an upgraded "massage"-shower) and are beautifully furnished. The beds were a bit too soft (unsuitable for people with back-pain). Dreams were not so sweet because there's music (!) in the hallway (!!) all night (!!)... Definitely not necessary! Be sure to ask if there are any special events (like weddings) as you can hear the party going on even on the top floor. One star taken off because of the messy breakfast: many tables in the restaurant are already prepared for dinner; the few tables left where either full of (used) dishes from other guests or empty but with the already (several times?!) used table-cloth - no waiters to bee seen anywhere (except the receptionist who obviously had to take care also on this mess?). Anyway, we liked our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdmgr, Manager at Inn On Broadway, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your stay at the Inn on Broadway. Each bed at our Inn is outfitted with down bedding and does supply a very pillow-like feel; we do offer hypo-allergenic bedding upon request, which may help for those who prefer a firmer mattress. I do apologize for the music that was playing in the hallway on the evening of your stay; we are able to manually turn it off at the front desk and I will make sure that this is getting done on a nightly basis to ensure a quiet night's sleep for our guests. As for the reception, events can be held in our ballroom on the 2nd floor of our Inn and do not go past midnight. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us overall and do hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn On Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Broadway

Address: 26 Broadway, Rochester, NY 14607
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#9 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Broadway 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn On Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Broadway Hotel Rochester
Hotel On Broadway
On Broadway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn On Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.