We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! Love it! Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan Works

Artisan Works
565 Blossom Road # L, Rochester, NY 14610
(585) 288-7170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Shopping in Rochester
Type: Art Galleries, Shopping
Attraction details
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love it! Love it! Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This incredibly unique space is a hidden gem. It is a massive WWI munitions factory turned art museum and banquet space. Its the home of literally thousands of pieces of art from all different mediums. Some are for sale some are not. Some you can play with and touch and some you may not. It has themed rooms such as the Frank Lloyd Wright Room, the Billiard Hall, 50's Ice Cream Parlor, and the Firehouse! We held our rehearsal dinner there and our friends and family also fell in love with it. Pay it a visit and by all means become a member and support the arts in Rochester!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A totally original experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have never visited a place quite like this. Original art hanging in every space of this warehouse. A great place to hold an event. They bring in local catering. At the event I attended we all created original art paintings. Very fun night.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“We Love This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited on a wintry afternoon, and as always, agreed we just have to come more often. Whether you're looking straight ahead, left, right, or up, there's something absolutely amazing to see. Much of the art is of gallery or museum quality, while lots is campy antiques and collectibles. (The old dental suite? The taxidermied giraffe and fighting lions?) I could easily spend a great many hours looking much more closely at everything.

Artisan Works makes much of its money from events. Even though I have no events in my future, I want to book it just so I can wander around with friends and a glass of wine to marvel at everything, to point, to laugh, to admire.

You've got to go!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for a getaway from the real world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great place to explore others' art. There are many different kinds all in a completely unconventional manner- IT ROCKS! No stuffy art museum feelings here!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wish we had something like this in Phx.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

So glad we visited Artisan Works. It has an overwhelming display of all types of art, all over the place. Truly a must see if you visit Rochester. It is an art gallery and more, so much more enjoyable than a typical art museum. I saw many things I liked from artists I had never seen before. Their web site does not really convey what a fun place this is.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan Works also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Artisan Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.