We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaya Indian Cuisine

Amaya Indian Cuisine
1900 Clinton Ave South, Rochester, NY 14618 (Formerly Amaya Bar and Grill)
+1 585-241-3223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Modern Indian flavors transformed into a contemporary gourmet experience! Pleasant, amazing dining experience.
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Nice atmosphere, friendly service, comfortable setting, and great food. My friends from Korea had just arrived from a long day of travel and were looking for Indian food at a place where we could have a nice conversation, but not spend all night waiting. Amaya turned out to be the perfect place. The food was fresh and hot from the kitchen and hit the spot. My friends really enjoyed the meal appreciated the fast and friendly service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Awesome review, Dave! We feel that when eating out, the food an service are just as important as the atmosphere and we're glad we could provide you with the perfect one when you visited us. Thank you for bringing your friends and for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Rahul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    18
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Indian food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

One of my favorite Indian restaurants in Rochester for vegetarian food. The paneer mahkni is wonderful. The samosas are unique but great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Glad to hear we're one one of your favorites, Mercurygirl30! We've noticed an increase in vegetarian options into the conversation on our TripAdvisor and we're glad you have taken the time to tell us about it. Thank you for the great review! Best, Rahul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Outstanding restaurant with delicious food and lovely ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a great dinner here tonight. The food and price point were great and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
That's so great to hear, Ninja1922! We strive to provide our customers with great food and great service and we're glad you we're satisfied. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we definitely can't wait to see you again! Best, Rahul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice for something different!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We don't eat out very often, this is the first restaurant we have ever been two more than once in a three month period. The ambiance is great, staff courteous, food very tasty and well presented. Excellent vegetarian dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for the great review, AnnMarjorie! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your first experience so much that you came back. We feel we've got some of the best vegetarian options out there and we love that you've sampled a few. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about when you visited and we can't wait to see you again! Best, Rahul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best indian restaurant's I have eaten at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've eaten at quite a few in many different countries.

The food is nicely prepared, with different types of spices, some hot dishes, some mild. The variety, is what is really great. There are items for all parts of indian, and as well as indonesian fusion dishes, british style indian dishes etc.

Also the atmosphere is very nice, upscale. I would consider coming here for a drink at the bar with some snacks.

While I have not sat outside, they do seem to have a nice patio for summer eating as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmayaBarAndGrill, Owner at Amaya Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We hope you'll join us for a drink this summer, Mitch! That way you can get the chance to experience our bar as well as our patio. But seriously, we work hard to make sure our customers always receive great food and service within an enjoyable atmosphere and we're glad you felt we satisfied those expectations. We appreciate the kind words and the time you have taken to review us. We look forward to the next time you decide to visit us! Best, Rahul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaya Indian Cuisine also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Amaya Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaya Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.