We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican by native Hispanics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Gallos Mexican Grill

Los Gallos Mexican Grill
2700 W Ridge Rd, Rochester, NY 14626-3039
585-227-7718
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #360 of 990 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hamlin , New York, United States
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican by native Hispanics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Enjoy the "flavor" of Mexican/Central American food! Have there been times when you actually experienced Mexican food, as eaten, prepared and experienced by Mexicans? Los Gallos is a place to have a "near Mexican" experience! First, the entire staff is native to Mexico or Central America. Their first language is Spanish. To a person...and I've been a number of times to prove this...they bring with them the light, joyful attitude one correctly associates with the Hispanic culture. Second, the meals are as close to traditional, "of the people" recipes. Yes, there is some packaging for the American consumer...the kind we demand, but not at the expense or sacrifice of authentic ingredients, flavors and combinations. The waiters are ready to allow substitutions, mixing of different menu offerings...similar to being in Hispanic countries, the customer is still "king", and can get pretty much what they want. Third, the food is fresh; each meal seems made to order. Not to worry! All the "usual" menu items are available, and a few that are specific to the chef's style and background. Yes, chef...not cook. Try something new; ask the waiter...adult beverges are available; the atmosphere is very "cafe", family friendly, prices are VERY modest. Excellent !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food & Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Driving by around 7pm, looking for a good place eat, and we decided to stop! Place was full, but still only waited about 10 mins to be seated. Appeared that everyone employed there, including one of the owners were Mexican! They offered an extensive menu! Service was great, as well as the food & Dos Sequis! We will be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Mexican-style restaurant on the west side of ROC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to lunch here on 8/31/12 and it was great. The service was quick and the server listened to our requests. The prices cannot be beat. It was Just about 22 dollars for the two of us to each have two chicken tacos, chips and guacamole and drinks. The tacos cam with pico, beans and sour cream, so no skimping! They have a large variety of tequilas to choose from if you like margaritas as well. I wish they would expand their bar, so the new Chipotle doesn't hurt their business too much!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Nice tex-mex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was modest little family run tex-mex restaurant. I enjoyed my masitas de puerco. It was slowed cooked and flavorful. My wife enjoyed spinach enchiladas and kids the quesadilla and tacos. Margs were largish. The restaurant had a homey and unpretentious atmosphere.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My family and I have been here a few times and we have thoroughly enjoyed it. Our latest trip allowed me to try one of their larger dinners, so I was able to Get a good sampling of all their authentic food. The prices are very reasonable and their complimentary chips and salsa are great. Our server was excellent and was extremely nice and welcoming to us, including our young child. Well done, we will be back for sure!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Gallos Mexican Grill also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Los Gallos Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Gallos Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.