We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey Breakfast Buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scene on Main

Scene on Main
125 East Main Street, Hyatt Regency Rochester, Rochester, NY 14604
585-794-4800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
syracuse
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pricey Breakfast Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

While service was excellent the buffet was fairly expensive. Nothing was made to order (ie; no omelet station) and was fairly pre-fab. The was good enough for breakfast but nothing special. If you are looking for convenience, this is your place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Painesville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Food and Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Had Dinner and Breakfast here. Both meals were excellent and the service was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was really good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pricey and Poor Breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Breakfast Buffet was overpriced. Coffee was mundane and bland. It was a staff production to get a packet of 'Raw Sugar' (which they had in a box behind the bar). I had to tell staff the next day where to find it. Pastries were really stale, bland and poor quality. Scary looking 'frittatas'. Scrambled eggs from a blended mix. Pancakes, French toast not good. Oatmeal good one day, poor the next. Sugary granola. Okay plain yoghurt. The best thing for breakfast was one day the blintzes.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hotel restaurant that really stands out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have chosen to eat at this restaurant when we have celebrated milestones in our lives.....our 25th wedding anniversary, my husband's 65th birthday and my retirement. Each time we experienced wonderful service.....very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was excellent! In each case, because we were celebrating special occasions, they gave use a drink or a dessert on the house.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Waiter, Good View and Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I were late arrivals to the dining room, after 9:30pm on a Saturday night. The room is sleek, modern and inviting surrounded by windows. We went unnoticed while standing at the host stand for quite a while, although the restaurant had three tables of patrons and 6 or 8 costumers at the bar. We decided to walk in and saw a waiter who promptly sat us in his station, facing the windows with a view of the street and convention center, instantly bring our menus and taking our beverage order. He approached our table within minutes to explain that the bar was backed up and he would bring our drinks as soon as they were ready. A gesture we appreciated, greatly. Soon after our drinks appeared and we placed our order, our first course arrived, quickly, Scene Snax, a tasty appealing presentation of candied nuts, roasted dates, wasabi peas and gorgonzola stuffed dates. I was sorry we did not save this item for our final course. Next, we shared the Grilled Flat Bread with Local Italian Market Sopressata, Prosciutto, Upstate Buffalo Mozzarella, Marinated Tomatoes, Balsamic Reduction, and Arugula. It was difficult to eat as the toppings kept spilling off the top of the flat bread when I picked it up to eat it, but the combination of flavors was great. The Dry Rubbed Pork Mini Tacos were not exactly what we had expected, but was delicious. The “taco” shell appeared to be a shaped deep fried wonton skin and was filled with shredded pork in a light BBQ type sauce, topped with mild shredded cheddar cheese and a sprinkling of shredded apple. Our waiter was the highlight of the night, conversing about the highlights of Rochester, inquiring about our trip and our hometown. He was a pleasure, as was the entire experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scene on Main also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Scene on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scene on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.