We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Value for a Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Jefferson Road, Rochester, NY 14623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Solid Value for a Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

From some of the reviews that preceded this one, I was expecting more. It is still a Best Western, and a one star hotel per tripadvisor.

PROS

Management is hand on. Lots of staff and all of them doing their jobs. Rooms are clean. Free internet in the lobby. NY Times and USA today. Free breakfast. Close to I380 and restaurants and malls.

CONS

Outside is being renovated, and it needs it. Appears the inside was renovated. Beds are industrial strength ..not real comfortable. Bath rooms are postage stamp size. On a main drag, so some road noise at night. Breakfast is Ok, but lacked a lot. Little fresh fruit. Oatmeal in a box but no real hot water to put in it. Everything is out of a box, but still its free.

If you get the right price ($80 or so), then it is a good value.

  • Liked — Price and free extras
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    41
    23
    18
See reviews for
91
36
18
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Stayed here only for one night on our way to Niagara falls on the 15th of August.
You will get: wifi free, microwave and refrigerator in your room + pc and printer in the lobby.
You have the chance to take away your breakfast (call and they will prepare it for you) if you leave too early in the morning.Quite good breakfast and free cookies, tea and coffe in the lobby. Room and bath are Ok and very clean.
As written in another review: the walls are too thin.

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

If I was an investor, this is the kind of establishment that I would invest in. The place is very well managed and fully booked for the 2 summer nights I stayed with my family (wife and 2 year old daughter) in mid-August. However, being well managed does not make this hotel a higher star rating than the 2~3 star that it is rated. The furniture, amenities and room layout is very typical of an older Best Western, but with recent rennovations. There are two queen beds with the sink basin in the main room with the washroom containing only the tub and toilet. However the unit is clean, and well maintained. The AC was also quiet. My only complaint is the washroom, which is small and old but clean. The microwave and mini-fridge was very useful with a little one and best of all, was their free DVD collection. They had hundreds of titles to choose from and the room includes a DVD player. There was also free wired internet in the room, and a nice hot breakfast included each morning in their breakfast room. The hotel is just off the I-390, which makes it an ideal location and not far from a shopping mall and nearby restaurants. It's also within walking distance to Boston Market, and Wild Noodles, a highly rated local eatery. Having a little one, I also got their roll-away bed ($10/night) which I sandwiched between the two taller queen beds. This way, I didn't have to worry about my 2 year old daughter falling off the bed as the taller queen beds formed walls around it. All in all, a good 3 star motel that I would stay again.

  • Liked — able to sandwich rollaway bed between 2 queen bed for my 2 year old daughter so she doesn't roll off the bed
  • Disliked — cramped washroom that is old, but clean
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

I stayed at this Best Western for 4 weeks while I was training for a new job. There were so many amenities that it was almost sad to leave: free wireless in the rooms, 2 free computers + free printing in the lobby, a very decent complimentary breakfast buffet, a huge free collection of DVDs for check-out, AMAZING free cookies and bars every evening, and even a complimentary BBQ (burgers, hot dogs, potato salad etc.) in the lobby every couple of weeks. Plus, there are countless restaurants & stores nearby.
My only complaint is that the walls are VERY thin (you really can hear every word of the conversations going on in the rooms next door)--this usually wasn't a problem as most of the guests were business people and retirees, but there were a couple of nights that youth groups stayed there, and those nights were not that pleasant.

  • Liked — The free cookies!
  • Disliked — the thin walls!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

I usually frequent another low priced hotel chain, but was extremely pleased with the Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn. It was $70 less per night, had free internet wifi in every room, free local AND free long distance phone calls. They had a nice (not fantastic) hot breakfast, an exercise room, cookies and goodies out every late afternoon in the lobby. The rooms were completely adequate and the bed was wonderful. There is a DVD player in every room, and about 200 very recent to fairly recent DVDs free for the borrowing to play in your room. Amazing! My wife and I were extremely happy and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Liked — good value
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

A very, non-descript hotel from the outside in a string of hotels, restaurants and stores right off the interstate south of downtown Rochester. I stayed for four nights in June 2007. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to go the extra mile for every request from each visit. My room, though not huge, was clean and had every ammenity I needed (with one exception -- see below). Flat screen TV with the full range of channels, fridge, microwave and TV, very clean bathroom.

As a nice added touch, they have free juice, coffee and cookies in the lobby, 24 hours a day as well as the requisite free breakfast seem to be found in most hotels these days.

I have only a few quibbles. They promised free wireless internet but it didn't work in my room. I had to carry my laptop down to the lobby to get it to work. The lobby also has two free PCs and a printer for anyone to use. I'm frankly getting really tired of hotels that promise internet access, wireless or wired, free or or paid, from the room, and then don't deliver on this. They act as if it's an added bonus, but for a lot of people, it's an essential. When I asked the hotel staff about the problem, they shrugged their shoulders and said it had to do with current thunderstorms. Ummm.. I don't think so.

Second problem was the smell. The hotel has a mix of smoking and non-smoking floors, room by room and even though my room was non-smoking, there was a faint odor of smoke in the hall from the nearby smoking rooms and smoke seemed to permeate the air conditioning system as well. Unfortunately the windows don't open so I did not have the opportunity to air out the place with natural air.

  • Liked — Convenient location, friendly service, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Not dependalble wireless internet, smoke smell in hallways and A/C system
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

First impression is good - friendly desk staff with free coffee and cakes waiting in the lobby.

Room was nicely decorated with a work area. Bathroom was clean and modern. Although facing the street, it wasn't noisy.

A few places to eat right next door or a short walk away.

Breakfast was good with newspapers and some hot food, and they say they'll even make you a breakfast bag to take away if you leave early before breakfast starts.

Wireless internet access worked fine although there are a couple of PCs in the lobby if you don't have your own machine.

Overall, happy with the experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn

Address: 940 Jefferson Road, Rochester, NY 14623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#9 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Rochester Marketplace is perfectly located in the "heart" of Rochester's shopping and restaurant district.We are minutes from all major highways and the Rochester International Airport. We offer plush accommodations featuring micro fridges, 40-inch flat panel televisions with DVD players, wired and wireless internet access, and a fabulous free hot full breakfast buffet for all our guests. We are minutes from the city center, convention district, and all major universities and corporations. Our staff will gladly shuttle you to any venue with in five miles of our property. Our staff looks forward to being your home away from home when visiting the Rochester New York area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marketplace Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.