We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just O.K.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Jefferson Road, Rochester, NY 14623   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just O.K.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My friend and I got this hotel on Hotwire for a 2 night stay. This was a girls' shopping weekend. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel had 500 DVDs you could borrow to watch which was great after 2 days of shopping. The beds were extremely comfortable. However, the good stopped there. The breakfast was just satisfactory. The person in charge of breakfast was not interested in replacing items. The breakfast room is too small and you felt crowded and rushed. In fact, we chose not to eat there on our check out day. Although the room was clean the carpetting was not. It had a grungy feel. The pillows were terrible. Smaller than usual and had absolutely no support. I certainly would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor by the breakfast room are loud and you can smell the food in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    42
    23
    18
See reviews for
92
36
18
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have family in Rochester NY and frequently stay at this Best Western when visiting. It is situated conveniently off I-390, near restaurants, shopping and major highways. The front desk staff is typically accommodating and pleasant, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is adequate with several hot items. They frequently have soups or cookies and pastries available in the early evening, which is a nice feature. Another plus is their large selection of DVD's, which are available free of charge. The 2 lobby computers have always been in working order as well as the printer.

Room Tip: We always stay on the first floor, for no special reason, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here on my way to Miami for a cruise. Had soup and hot cookies upon arrival. They took all nine of us to and from airport, even when are return flight came in late. Very friendly staff. And we received an update to a suite. Best in area ny far.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The room was fine and the bed was fantastic. The bathroom was a bit claustrophobic and didn't seem as if it was cleaned as well as the rest of the room, but it did have a great shower. The free breakfast was pretty average. The staff was very helpful and friendly and let us check out late, which really made our last day in Rochester much easier. I'm sure there are much nicer properties in the Marketplace area, but you probably won't find a nicer staff or a better value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This was my first trip to Rochester NY. The hotel was a bit far from the city center, and on a busy main road. It was however within walking distance to good restaurants and Dunkin Donuts if you don't like the hotel breakfast, which was very average. The room was ok, except for a VERY small bathroom, with the sink in the room. That's really old school. It was very nice that they offered a shuttle service to and from the airport, and also to nearer destinations within a certain radius, but not into Rochester itself. Wifi SLOW.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anish P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for your feed back. We are constantly looking for feedback to make our hotel better. We are glad that you found the free shuttle service to be of use and were able to take advantage of the many wonderful dining options in our immediate area. I do apologize that the wireless internet connection was not suitable for you. We have recently upgraded to a high speed internet (up to 50 megabits per second download speeds) and are in the process of upgrading the wireless connection. We would also like to note that there is a hard wire ethernet connection at each desk to help our guests get a secure and high speed connection. We hope that these upgrades will improve your next stay with us. We thank you for choosing the Best Western Marketplace Inn and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed for one night, check in was smooth and professional. Only problem was some drunk hunters would thought it was a good idea to sit in the hall and drink and eat pizza at midnight. One phone call to the front desk resolved the matter although I found one gentlemen asleep in the hallway exit area when I went out for my morning run! Area has a large number of dining options and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. Room was fine..no real issues. The bathroom was extremely small. The sink was in the bedroom as it is in many hotels... not a feature I agree with. The breakfast was better than average but the breakfast room was less than average. Room was too small, tables cramped and not even close to the number there should have been for the amount of guests and room. No place to eat the food that was served. Our room did not have any table and only a few of the guests were able to sit in the breakfast room as it had fewer than 10 tables in total.
Employees seemed helpful and friendly.
I would not stay at this hotel again. Jefferson Rd. has every hotel chain available and I will look for bigger bathrooms and bigger breakfast rooms in other hotels for the same average price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn

Address: 940 Jefferson Road, Rochester, NY 14623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#10 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Rochester Marketplace is perfectly located in the "heart" of Rochester's shopping and restaurant district.We are minutes from all major highways and the Rochester International Airport. We offer plush accommodations featuring micro fridges, 40-inch flat panel televisions with DVD players, wired and wireless internet access, and a fabulous free hot full breakfast buffet for all our guests. We are minutes from the city center, convention district, and all major universities and corporations. Our staff will gladly shuttle you to any venue with in five miles of our property. Our staff looks forward to being your home away from home when visiting the Rochester New York area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marketplace Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.