We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique coffee experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Bean Coffee Roasters

Joe Bean Coffee Roasters
1344 University Ave, Rochester, NY 14607
5853195283
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: Speciality coffee bar and coffee roasting facility, bar seating, raw industrail feel from the locations historic WWII era factory.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A unique coffee experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

At Joe Bean, you'll get the most expertly prepared cup of coffee you'll find anywhere in Rochester - or most anywhere else, for that matter. None of that "made within the last 20 minutes" stuff - every cup is made fresh just for you! And since every bean is roasted just feet away, the baristas know all about the beans, the sourcing, and the flavor profile!

Kathy and her team a also a fun group to hang around!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“simple, smooth place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

nice place, has a lot to offer, draft beer and wine too sensible staff, the karma draws good nature people

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Excellent coffee, caring staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is great. The pour over was really perfect. And the staff there really know and love what they do. The barista Ben took some time to give me some pointers on how to get my own pour over to taste great!

If they were near me in NYC, they'd give Blue Bottle and Toby's estate a run for their money!

Anyone who would overlook the quality of this coffee due to the lack of sweeteners and flavoring should hold their tongue. You wouldn't rate a cheese shop for not having cheese wiz would you?

Recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“No pithy send-up necessary: the coffee was that good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a soy latte with an extra (double) shot. Perfection. When my daughter's godmother, one if my favorite people on earth, suggested we get another to go, I wish I had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a coffee experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I just had the best Soy Latte ever at Joe Bean Coffee Roasters. Service is a bit slow but very steady and gracious. Considering the hand crafted product, the wait was well worth it. This spot takes coffee making to a high art. So many choices of bean/brewing technique to suit your taste. Well done! I'll be back and will pass on the good word.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Bean Coffee Roasters also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Joe Bean Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Bean Coffee Roasters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.