We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Noodle Fix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Han Noodle Bar

Han Noodle Bar
687 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-3148
585-242-7333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 990 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Noodle Fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I was surprised to see a really negative review as I've been here about 3 or 4 times for lunch and have had a really good experience.

The strength of the place is clearly in the noodle dishes, which is what we always opt for and have never been disappointed. There are many options that offer a mix of flavors and textures. It is a pleasant change from Asian restaurants that want to glop sauce on everything!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Innovative Chinese fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Han Noodle Bar is a welcome addition to the Rochester Chinese restaurant scene. In addition to the usual kung pao chicken and other Americanized stand-bys, Han Noodle Bar serves some very creative dishes. We tried the ginger scallion beef and Cantonese roast pork noodle dish during our first time here (take-out), and both dishes were fresh and delicious. And the service was very friendly and prompt. The spring rolls and hot and sour soup were just ok--that's what we get, perhaps, for picking some "safe" options instead of doing what we should have done--gone for dishes not on the menus of other Chinese restaurants!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Shitake steamed buns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My Chinese friends from China introduced this place to me. They all said it serves authentic Chinese food. I went there for dinner and had shitake mushroom steamed buns and they were delicious but can be better when they are steaming hot. For entree, I had basil shrimp and squid white noodle soup. It's good but it lacks some taste. It could be that I am used to strong flavors already. But I will definitely go back to try other dishes. Service is great.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

This place was absolutely TERRIBLE!!! We waited forever for our food. The roasted pork buns were nothing but fat, seriously there was no meat there at all. The cumin beef was so salty it was almost inedible but that was the only thing I could eat so I choked it down. The roast duck was all fat and served cold. They were out of wontons. The scallion pancakes were swimming in oil and were not very flavorful. People near us cancelled their order because their food hadn't come and they were there before us! Terrible waste of money and overallI was extremely disappointed.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“They have a way with pork . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Whether it is the roast pork, the house-cured pork belly, the pork dumplings, or the sausage, this is the meat to have with your meal. Have the noodles or the broth, or both, but you have to have something with one or more of the pork products. Yes, this place has many of the old standby Chinese-American dishes, but the Chinese street food dishes it serves are the way to go. Personable staff and a fresh/simple dining room.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Han Noodle Bar also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Han Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Han Noodle Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.