We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the bisque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Crab Shack

The Original Crab Shack
749 E. Henrietta Road, Rochester, NY 14623
+1 585-427-7420
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 1,108 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Rochester's Original Crab Shack is open seven days a week for lunch AND dinner. Seafood, Pasta, Steaks, Salads, Sandwiches and more. Locally Owned. Locally Operated. Open at 11am Daily.
rochester ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We love the bisque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went to the Crab Shack last night for our anniversery- free bottle of wine, $10 off coupon they sent - what a deal. The bisque there is absolutely wonderful. Lobster mac & cheese was huge and delicious. Scallops were succulent but could have had a better sear. Service was great and all were prompt and attentive. Thanks for a nice anniversery.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    69
    29
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So Unhealthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The best word to describe the food at Crab Shack is "unhealthy." Nearly the entire menu is batter fried, so I ordered a special, monkfish with vegetables. It had promise, but the vegetables ended up being sweet potatoes. Someone needs to tell the chef that nutritionally, sweet potatoes are not veggies, they're starch. Then again, nutrition is not a concern here.

Never again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When the restaurant first opened up and for the next 8 months it was one of the better seafood places in Rochester. There were times you would have to wait 30 to 60 minutes to get a table. The service was good, the seafood fresh and cooked right.

Then they either changed their vendors or their cook but the quality of the food hit bottom. Then, when they put the fish or seafood in front of you and you smell that fishy smell and gag you know they either have not changed the water when the boil the crab, etc...you can not use the same water for 100plates of crab, etc. without changing the water. The service has deteriorated and the restaurant is not has clean as it should be. Sorry but the Crab Shack has hit bottom.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food for price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I have eaten at the Crab Shack several times.Our favorite is the lobster roll that reminds us of lobster rolls in Maine . When the lobster rolls were served we were provided delicious corn bread and after we finished our lobster rolls we were given a small taste of lemon ice. We have tried other menu items and never been disappointed. The service is very good and the price is certainly reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Service, Good food selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a pleasant dinner here... the service was very good. We selected this restaurant as it was a very short walking distance from the hotel where we were staying in Rochester. The ambiance in the restaurant was nice and the menu had some great, if not predictable, variety and options. Our meal was served hot and was very tasty (enjoyed the Calarmi appetizer) but we left somewhat "un-impressed". I admit that this opinion is probably due to the fact that we live in coastal New Hampshire and tend to have very high expectations when it comes to fresh seafood. We did not have any of their fish entrees so we really cannot say how fresh their fish might have been.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Crab Shack also viewed

Henrietta, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Original Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.