We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House

National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House
17 Madison Street, Rochester, NY 14608
+1 585-235-6124
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 149 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House shares the story of Susan B. Anthony's lifelong struggle to gain voting rights for women and equal rights for all. We keep her vision alive and relevant by preserving and sharing Anthony's National Historic Landmark home; collecting artifacts and research materials directly related to her life and work; and making these resources available to the public through tours, publications, the internet, and interpretive programs. Come visit us today!
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a beautiful site in a beautiful neighborhood. I wish I could remember our docent's name, but the tour was immensely interesting and detailed -- and just being in Susan B. Anthony's home among many of her belongings is a moving experience. I very highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
palm harbor fl
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You will be inspired!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently visited the Susan B. Anthony house with the Florida League of Women voters. Usually group tours are a drag. Not this one! The Susan B. Anthony house was the epicenter of the suffragist movement that changed the world. Miss Anthony lived here and used this house as her home base as she worked tirelessly and fearlessly around the globe... for over fifty years. This was the headquarters for women's equality. Miss Anthony worked day and night to highlight and correct injustices against all people. She met and worked with with Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Lucretia Mott, Harriet Tubman, and many other famous leaders. You will see the parlor where she was arrested for voting. She was later tried, fined and refused to pay despite the threat of jail.

The tour took just about an hour, the docents were simply fabulous.They have a great gift shop and we even had a chance to stay for a delicious lunch. The docents are willing to answers lots of questions and they are very knowledgable. We learned so much. No one could come here and not be moved by what this brave and forward thinking woman accomplished. She brought so many great minds together and she changed the way that people think about human rights. It is hard to believe how far we have come in such a short time. Yet, her causes are still relevant today. Her words "failure is impossible" are still with me! Don't miss a chance to visit...if you love history this is a must see. Her sister's house is next door and don't miss Mr. Seward's beautiful home just down the street!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“A true gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I LOVED this tour. Peggy was the docent that took me on the tour and I was the only person on her tour at that time. You start in the adjacent house that actually belonged to Susan's sister. There is a tiny gift shop area, restroom and an informational center set up in the front. We walked next door to Susan B. Anthony's home. Informative, fun, historical. It was just a wonderful tour. It took a little over an hour, but it was worth every second.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A rare opportunity, inspiring and moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

You can visit lots of places where famous people lived, but this is totally different. The House is where the suffragist movement was based as well as where Miss Anthony lived for her 50 most politically active years. It is in this parlor where she was arrested for voting in 1872. Can you imagine? It all happened right here!
The docents are some of the most well informed people you will find and are deeply emotionally engaged with the mission and the legacy. They pull out the most incredible little anecdotes in response to questions.
Susan B Anthony died a long time ago, but there are still injustices and issues just like the ones she fought for that continue to plague us. Today we have airplanes and the internet. When I consider how hard she worked to advance equality, I feel there is so much more I can do. It is hard to imagine walking away from this place unchanged.
If you are coming to Rochester, this is one stop you have to make.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this when you visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Never miss out on taking a step back into history and visit the Susan B Anthony house and experience one histories great women and activists.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.