We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Rochester University to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Genesee Street, Rochester, NY 14611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was born and raised in the 19th ward in Rochester, NY. This hotel is a lovely addition to the community. The complimentary breakfast, evening reception with dinner, fitness center, internet and free laundry make this an exceptional value. The location is near the University of Rochester. Brian, Fonz and the management staff will go above and beyond to make sure the guests are comfortable. I have stayed here 4 times and it is always my first choice when I'm in Rochester, New York. There is also a shuttle (driven by Keith) that travels to many locations within a 3 mile radius including UR and Wegmans.

Room Tip: Stay in the even numbered rooms facing the Genesee River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest-

Welcome back to the area. We are pleased that you choose to stay with us. Thank you for your kind words I will share your review with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    65
    21
    14
    13
See reviews for
95
26
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time staying at the Staybridge chain (the first was recently in Buffalo) and I am happy to say the standard of quality is consistent. Received a warm welcome from the front desk staff member, Fonz. Room was clean, sofa comfortable, and the view of the Genesee river was relaxing. Keith, the shuttle driver, was happy to drive myself and my work colleague to the Rochester Jazz Festival. Breakfast featured eggs, sausage, home fries, waffles, various breads, yogurt, fruit, and hard boiled eggs - enough to please most. I enjoyed sitting on the deck eating my Chinese delivery while sipping the complimentary beer. The only drawback is that my room was by the elevator which I could hear beeping. However, it was not annoying enough to ask to have my room changed. I would stay here again and have encouraged my friends and family to do so. For me, the warm welcome and friendly customer service is the best selling point.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Jessica L-

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to refer us and writing a great review. We would love to see you during a future stay!

Warm Regards,

Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My family, friends and I stayed here last year the night before the (fundraiser) Stroll for Strong Kids (Golisano Children's Hospital), and we liked it so much we came back this year. I cannot say anything bad about the experience either time. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, we were accommodated every step of the way. It almost seemed like a dream (sounds corny, but it is true.) I would like to say that the front desk young man, Franz, is a huge asset to the property. He made everyone in our group (26 people in 4 double rooms) feel very welcome and helped in any way possible. Two of the big attractions are the swimming pool and the fire pit on the patio out back which looks over the river. We all loved it! The other bonus for us is that we could walk over to the park where the Stroll for Strong event took place instead of having to drive over, find parking and walk to get to the start line anyway. I highly recommend this hotel for family, fun, business....whatever! We will be back again next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest -

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your positive feed back and will let Franz know of the compliment you paid him in your review. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Melissa Guenther
Direct of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Friendly Hotel close to the airport and by the river. The managers special on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evening was excellent. Breakfast was fine with a reasonable choice of foods.
Room not as 'grand' as some suite hotels but fully functional.

Room Tip: I was staying in a third floor room and felt/heard the people above when they moved around. So perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest-

We are sorry to hear of your issues with the room above you, but glad you enjoyed the spectacular view of the river and our food service. At the Stay Bridge Suites we pride our selves on the positive guest experience. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you!

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The staff at this property are all very friendly and really made me feel at home. The happy hour buffet is a nice touch with wine and tap beer available. The food was so so but still good as a pre dinner appetizer. The rooms are very spacious. Now the issue: When I went to bed I noticed a fairly large spider climbing up the wall which was directly to the side of the bed. Although I do not have any particular fear of spiders or insects in general, seeing a spider climbing a wall inches from where you are about to go to sleep is a bit alarming. I'm sad to report, unlike me, the spider did not survive the incident. I cannot give more than 3 stars based on that incident, otherwise they would have had at least 4.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear TTMLL2215,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am delighted to know that you found our hotel staff highly commendable.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the room cleanliness may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the honor of serving you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, On
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My family recently stayed at the Staybridge Suites in Rochester and we really enjoyed our stay. We had 3 adults and 2 kids so having the suite option with 2 bedrooms made a lot of sense. The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. Our room had a nice view of the Genessee river. The pool area was very nice (not a deep pool - but enough for the kids to have some fun). We stayed on a Sunday night and there weren't any restaurants open nearby so we had to drive a bit - we used the provided local directory to find some options. The free breakfast was a convenient way to start the next day as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest -

We are happy that you chose us to for your family get away. Thank you for all the kind words, we will pass this review on to our team!

Warm Regards,

Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I had a suite that overlooked the Genessee river. Very pretty view of the university . The suites have a kitchen with everything you need. During the week they have a BBQ and salad bar for guests. There is wine and beer and a nice fire pit to sit outside and relax. The hotel is clean and people are friendly . There is an indoor pool, hot tub and a gym. Breakfast was ok and included. Parking is close. They need to repave the entrance . Huge pot wholes and not very attractive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for your kind words. We are sorry for the parking lot and will be repairing it in the near future. Thank you for staying with us!

Kind regards,

Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Address: 1000 Genesee Street, Rochester, NY 14611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#8 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites hotel in Rochester, NY blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service in a beautiful suburban setting. We are easily accessible from the NY Thruway, I-390, I-490, I-590 and are located just minutes from the Greater Rochester International Airport. Our hotel is just minutes away from the University of Rochester, Rochester Institute of Technology, and several major corporations such as Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Wegmans. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious studio, one-bedroom suites, and two bedroom suites, each complete with living room and full kitchen. Our daily breakfast buffet features hot items, and our free Sundowner Reception (featuring a light dinner with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. When it's time to unwind, relax in the courtyard or at our indoor pool or workout in our fitness room. Leisure opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Seneca Park Zoo and Rochester Museum and Science Center, and within a 1 hour drive to Finger Lakes, Casa Larga Vineyards, and the Genesee Country Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Rochester University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.