We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Staybridge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Rochester University to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Genesee Street, Rochester, NY 14611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing Staybridge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here with my family in late July. I have stayed at many different Staybridge locations, and this one was by far the most disappointing. It began with check in. The room wasn't ready when we arrived. There was some confusion about the rate as well. The manager, Michael, was indifferent and disinterested. Horrible customer service. In fact, he was almost rude. The parking lot of the hotel is a through street. A city street. We were almost run over several times trying to get to our cars. The hotel didn't replenish shampoo and conditioner or soap. The excuse they offered was that they were an extended stay hotel. The "business center" didn't have any pens, paper, paper clips, stapler etc. It was two computers, one of which was hooked up to a printer. Used towels were left on the floor in the room and not picked up. Garbage cans in the common areas were not emptied regularly and there were no towels in the pool area on three of the four days we stayed. Private parties in the hotel on Friday and Saturday night were very loud. On the bright side, the weekend breakfast was good, however the menu changed on the weekdays and it was less than desirable. The room was small for a suite, but clean. The furniture is showing signs of wear. There are far too many other hotels in Rochester to waste money here.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear TravelDad26,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Rochester and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. I am pleased you found the room to be clean and breakfast to be good. We strive to provide our guest comfortable accommodations. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    62
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
89
24
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My son and I stayed two nights while visited the University of Rochester. While the hotel is new and within walking distance of the University, it is in a VERY bad neighborhood. We were afraid to walk outside at night. Our hotel room was dirty - cobwebs on the ceiling, potato chip crumbs on the couch and a dirty bedspread. The hotel was full of kids attending a soccer camp and they were extremely noisy. The walls/ceilings are thin and we did not get a good night's sleep. We complained to the management at 1:30 am when kids were still running up and down the hall and slamming doors, but they were not very responsive. When I brought the subject up to management again in the morning when we were checking out, all they did was offer a lukewarm apology. The breakfast was the only good experience of our stay. There were many choices, including fresh fruit (blueberries and watermelon). Pets are allowed in this hotel and there were several barking dogs. The barking dogs weren't much of a problem compared to the wild children that weren't supervised by their parents.

Room Tip: Either pick a different hotel or stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Jennifer H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about your experience at our property. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced because of the noise created by the kids. Please be assured that we will be looking into the issues raised in your feedback and carrying out any necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Please accept our apologies for this lapse in service.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Went to the Strong museum with my two children (3&5) We were upgraded to the two bedroom suite and couldn't ask for a better stay. Continental breakfast and dinner/snack in the evening including beverages. The pool and hot tub were clean and modern and the view of the river was fantastic. The service was exceptional and always happy to help. We felt like we were in a mini resort minutes away from the city.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our second stay at this facility. The river setting is lovely--they charge a tiny amount more for a river view, which is completely worth it in my opinion. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment this time, and will do so again in the future. The studio apartments are decent-sized, but having the extra space that came with a one-bedroom made for a much more comfortable stay. The breakfast is more than adequate, and as other posters said, the happy hour/light meals offered during the week is a big plus. Laundry is free for guests, and the gym is modern with decent equipment. We really appreciate the location close to the airport, and within a few minute's drive to various highways make it a snap to get around the Rochester area, from the suburbs to downtown Rochester. When we checked in thessafe in the closet wasn't working, but it was fixed quickly. We will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Pay for a river view. It's not that much extra, and the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I loved this place! Everyone is friendly, the suites are spacious, very clean and quiet. We had no issues with the noise-level whatsoever and during our stay, the hotel was booked. There is a very nice indoor pool and exercise room. The breakfast buffet was excellent and offered many choices from Chobani yogurt and fresh fruit to omelettes, home fries and sausage, but many more options as well. We really enjoyed the social hours that are offered on Tuesday,Wednesday and Thursdays from 5:30-7:30 pm when guests enjoy complimentary beer, wine, and soda along with a complimentary meal (the evenings we were there we had tacos one night, raviolis and meatballs another night and grilled hots and burgers another night!). This place is perfect for families and business travellers as well. We have recommended Staybridge Suites-Rochester to our family and friends. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Staybridge and loved relaxing on the outdoor patio next to the Genesee River!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The suites are wonderful and great value for a large family.  The kitchen gave us flexibility and choice to eat in or out. Staff was friendly, check-in was quick and efficient. Breakfast staff friendly and responsive. It was a bit crowded. People had to find tables and seats, however we sat outside on the patio and had a great river view. The location was excellent as a UR alumni it was great sharing my old stomping ground with my kids. For those runners out there, the river path is a great running trail.  The only complaint that I have is the noise level in the hotel. You can hear every conversation and movement of your neighbor, especially in the bathrooms. I am sure our neighbors heard us too.  Besides the noise complaint, this hotel is an excellent value!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vauxhall, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

For romance this is a great hotel to go to its right on the river bank, quiet, secluded and the view is beautiful. My suite had a kitchenette, living room, flat screen TV and it was very clean. The customer service was great and the complimentary breakfast was the best I ever seen. You can’t go wrong by choosing this hotel its worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager88, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Rochester University, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest-

Thank you for rating us! We are happy you LOVED your stay. Please feel free to visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Rochester University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Rochester University

Address: 1000 Genesee Street, Rochester, NY 14611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#10 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Rochester University 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites hotel in Rochester, NY blends sophisticated, extended stay hotel surroundings with friendly service in a beautiful suburban setting. We are easily accessible from the NY Thruway, I-390, I-490, I-590 and are located just minutes from the Greater Rochester International Airport. Our hotel is just minutes away from the University of Rochester, Rochester Institute of Technology, and several major corporations such as Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Wegmans. You will experience comfort and convenience with our spacious studio, one-bedroom suites, and two bedroom suites, each complete with living room and full kitchen. Our daily breakfast buffet features hot items, and our free Sundowner Reception (featuring a light dinner with beer, wine, & soft drinks) is available Tuesday - Thursday evenings. If you prefer to dine out, choose from any number of restaurants that feature a range of cuisine and ambiance. When it's time to unwind, relax in the courtyard or at our indoor pool or workout in our fitness room. Leisure opportunities are plentiful- we are just minutes from Seneca Park Zoo and Rochester Museum and Science Center, and within a 1 hour drive to Finger Lakes, Casa Larga Vineyards, and the Genesee Country Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Rochester University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester University Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Rochester University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.