We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kodak = Rochester” 3 of 5 stars
Review of George Eastman House

George Eastman House
International Museum of Photography and Film, 900 East Avenue, Rochester, NY 14607
585-271-3361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Attractions in Rochester
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The man behind Kodak endowed many Rochester philanthropic interests, and his 50-room mansion is now a photography and film museum.
Rochester, New York, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kodak = Rochester”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Interesting stuff to see here if you can take a quick trip through the displays. I was there for an event, and not sure I would make a trip just to see this. There was an Amsel Adams display (Kodak owns several of the original photos I believe) during my visit, which was a bonus! Not sure if the photos are displayed year round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    104
    21
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This spectacular mansion captures everything you'd expect. It was well curated and we're glad we visited.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Must See in Rochester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

As a photographer I had to make a pilgrimage to the George Eastman Home. I am so happy I did.

We took a guided tour of Eastman's home and then walked through the several galleries of photography that spans the history of the art for. Other galleries display antique cameras and other photographic equipment.

The House is also home to archives of film and photography, a graduate school for those interested in photo restoration and contains a theater the shows older, less frequently seen films.

Don't forget to walk through the beautiful estate gardens as well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“History - what a famous entreprenuer/philanthopist's home was like.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Magnitude of his life, culture, the class of the day via furnishings, his interests, and culture shows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you could only visit one spot in Rochester-this is it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Fabulous museum: the history of photography and George Eastman; an amazing tour of his home; a world class gallery of photography; gorgeous gardents; a fabulous cinema showing all time great films since the 1920s; and a nice cafe too!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Eastman House also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to George Eastman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Eastman House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.