We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Park

Highland Park
171 Reservoir Avenue, Rochester, NY 14620
585-753-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 149 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The annual Lilac Festival is the most popular event on the calendar here, one of the country's oldest city arboretums.
Shippensburg, PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fall visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

It was rainy the day we visited. Not as large as we expected. I am sure when the lilacs are blooming it is gorgeous.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    51
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Would be nice during a concert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was a little disappointed by the park. I was expecting something a little larger. We went looking for the Freddrick Douglass statue and it was located in a field near a stage. The area would be great for a concert of play. I'm hoping there is more to the place than just what I saw. Perhaps we only saw a small section of the park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lilacs! Lilacs! & More Lilacs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The thousands of varieties of lilacs are the highlight but not the only thing to do here. During the summer you might want to spread a blanket or lawn chair and a picnic supper while you enjoy a family movie or performance at the bowl; a natural amphitheater; a perfect place to enjoy entertainment under the stars. For more - see review for Highland Botanical Park and Lamberton Conservatory.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have a Lilac Festival every year at the Park. Not only does it have Lilacs blooming that are Hundreds of years old, they have Music, Vendors & it is a beautiful Park. Well known Bands along with Local Music take the Stages-definitely must go if your in Rochester at this time! Beautiful!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lilac Festivle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lilac festival around May packs in the crowds and has plenty of food and entertainment throughout the week plus. Had a nice time roaming the grounds and smelling the flowers,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Park also viewed

 

Been to Highland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.