We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque, interesting wineries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finger Lakes Wine Country

Finger Lakes Wine Country
Rochester, NY
+1 800-813-2958
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 Activities in Rochester
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Scenic Drives, Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Fairport, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque, interesting wineries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A drive along Canadaugua or Keuka lake is very pleasant and picturesque. Stop in Naples or Hammondsport at a winery for good tastings and an interesting tour. You'll enjoy a great day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    26
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stayed for 4 days, never wanted to leave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Showboat motel on Seneca Lake for the weekend for Nascar at Watkins Glen.....so many great wineries but I recommend Hickory Hollow, Glenora, The Pompous , White Springs, Hazlitt as my favorites. If you are a Riesling fan as I am , you are in the right place!!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Wineries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We loved the wineries on Seneca Trail. Second time we visited this region. First time we went to Keuka Trail so we took the Seneca one this time and found it very good, less crowded, alot of wineries and nice people.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROchester ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Finger Lakes - all the wine none of the $$$ attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It's beautiful country. It's easily accessible by car from several airports. And it has a gazillion wineries - all without the Napa attitude and prices.

It's been a secret to us New Yorkers for a while, but more and more folks are discovering the area. And why not? It is glorious scenery - if you don't like one of the 5 plus lakes, you can be at another one in less than an hour. They are quaint, authentic towns - including Seneca Falls, birthplace of the women's rights movement. There are great restaurants - don't miss the Red Newt for delicious locavore cooking. You can even stay in a castle - Behurst, in Geneva.

And choose a wine to specialize in as you travel about. Reisling is a good one, excellent varieties from this region.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
660 helpful votes 660 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery, restaurants and wineries.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

An excellent overnight trip to view the scenery along the lakes and wineries. Educational and eclectic. A variety of restaurants along the way offer incredible food and service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finger Lakes Wine Country also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Finger Lakes Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finger Lakes Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.