We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host East End Hotel

Save Saved
You added Budget Host East End Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host East End Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Lake Avenue, Riverhead, NY 11901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Riverhead
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great service, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Clean hotel with outdoor pool and tennis court on site prices are cheaper than most in the area. If this hotel was on the beach it would be the one for me. I live on the westside of Long Island,so to check out the Outlets, Montauk, and the Vineyards, it's best to stay somewhere instead of the doing the drive in one day. This time I wanted to check out the Vineyards, and of course, make a stop at the Outlets!

Room Tip: Request a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    15
    13
    23
See reviews for
16
19
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you are looking for a place to take a prostitute or do drugs, this is your place. The only thing this place was missing is the police tape and caulk outlines. I had a lot to say about how disgusting this place is, but I realized most of the other reviews are spot on about its filfh, bugs, disrepair, and smell.

If you have nowhere else to stay, sleep in your car. But, if you choose to sleep in your car in the parking lot of this hotel, be sure to lock your doors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riverhead hotels

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Upon booking 2 rooms for our guests and ourselves, we checked in at 7pm and as soon as we saw the rooms we ran out at 7:01! The bedspreads were nasty and covered in burns/holes, there was a kitchenette with residents of it's own...the carpet was FILTHY and the shower's knobs FELL right off the shower wall! In case you're wondering I wanted to rinse my flip-flop off in the tub before leaving that hell hole as I stepped in something sticky...yuk.
Booked through Expedia and really embarrassed as we brought guests. So gross please don't even bother; this is a hooker spot/crack den. No one can tell me otherwise. NASTY!

Room Tip: I said average as they gave me a full refund thank goodness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget H, General Manager at Budget Host East End Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

After inspection of the room that was assigned to you, we have addressed the maintenence issues that affected your stay. Our front desk staff also assisted your party in finding other accomaditions right away. Your thoughts about our Inn being a "hooker spot/crack den are imaginary. In the future we kindly request addressing the issues that you have experienced.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in our hotel. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

After several phone calls to this motel to confirm that it is pet friendly, we checked in and were assisted with our pet carriers by the management staff. On the third day we were informed that the motel is not pet friendly. We were welcomed to stay but not our pets. In addition we killed a bug which turned out to be a bed bug that bit. us on our hands and neck areas. To say the least, this was a horrible stay and we would not ever recommend this motel to another human or non-human.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget H, Front Office Manager at Budget Host East End Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please understand that our pet policy is one pet per room. Our front office was not informed that you will be travelling with four cats. After a very carefull inspection of your room by licensed exterminaters, they concluded that the room is free of bed bugs.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in our hotel. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Do not stay here burn holes in the cover, smells like cigarette smoke in a non smoking room. Absolutely DISGUSTING!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

This was quite a place. I've stayed all over, and once experienced a shooting in my hotel, so this was a step up. But that's about the only stay this is a step up from. The staff was very friendly and the room appeared clean. The heat worked well also.

The downsides are the overall feel and appearance, in addition to the marijauna smell emitting from the maintenance guys room. It is also unsettling to know that every local I told that I was staying here said it was known as the prostitute hangout.

Take it for what it is, for a cheap night where I really didn't feel that unsafe (and I'm a baby) I'd probably stay again, assuming I couldn't/wouldn't pay more for just a place to crash.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We came here during Huricane Irene. The rooms are clean, but the place needs major TLC. It's not high-end accomodations, but I have to say, the staff couldn't be nicer. Whatever we asked for, they accomodated us. When we needed to stay another night, they made sure we had had their bedst rooms. We had fun during the Huricane and it was an expereince we soon won't forget. My friends and I have already decided that if there is another Huricane next year, this is where we are going.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for non-smoking rooms and a king bed or two queen beds and lots of towels. By the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host East End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host East End Hotel

Address: 30 Lake Avenue, Riverhead, NY 11901
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host East End Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Budget Host East End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host East End Hotel Riverhead, NY - Long Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host East End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.