We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Buried Burrito! - Oh, and other wonderful food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funcho's Fajita Grill

Funcho's Fajita Grill
1156 W Main St, Riverhead, NY 11901-2845
631-369-7277
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 97 Restaurants in Riverhead
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Buried Burrito! - Oh, and other wonderful food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Buried Burrito!! It is so amazing! The other food there is wonderful as well! I agree with the other folks that the guac is pretty much tasteful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and generous portion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stopped here looking for something different for dinner. The single Fajita dinner was approximately $11.50 and the family portion was $23.50. Since there were two of us, I ordered the family portion and got enough for 4 people. I got chicken and beef with several toppings including guacamole, black beans, tomato, rice, sour cream etc. I felt the meat was a little dry and the gaucamole wasn't exactly the way I liked it. I felt that it lacked the flavor of the avocados. It could be just me because they were very crowded. The inside seating is limited but the outside tables were very nice. If we go back, I will probably order the single portion and supplement it with maybe some tacos or tamales.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Get anything but chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Everything I've had is good...typical tex-mex americana mex fare. The palta y pollo is good, but other than that I recommend to stay away from the chicken, as it is very dry. Guac is somewhat bland. Everything is consistent though.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My favorite stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stop here frequently on the way back from Cupsogue. Food is always great. Service friendly. Try the Buried Burrito and have a healthy appetite! My favorite in Riverhead.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montanita, Ecuador
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best TexMex on Long Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This little taco hut is out of the way, but well worth the trip. Grab your food and head out back to the gazebo to eat away from all the traffic. It is my favorite place to get the Mexican food on Long Island, and the only one that lives up to the standards I developed while living on the border in Texas.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funcho's Fajita Grill also viewed

Riverhead, Hamptons
 
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Funcho's Fajita Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funcho's Fajita Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.