We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in the Grillroom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stonewall Restaurant
967 Reeves Ave, Riverhead, NY 11901-1402
631-506-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 98 Restaurants in Riverhead
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Middle Island, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch in the Grillroom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch in the less formal Grillroom. Two of us enjoyed the spinach salad with pears and Gorgonzola cheese. Our friend raved about the grilled chicken sandwich. The raspberry mousse - delightful! Our waiter was charming, knowledgable and attentive. Great value in a very pretty setting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Quogue NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big changes at Stonewall's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My review is based on a visit in the summer of 2012. We have not been there since they got a new chef. So keep this in mind.


Reviews do not reflect the 2012 departure of the superb French chef Guy Peuche or the complete disappearance of their outstanding prix fixe or the web site which no longer lists any dinner menu at all. If they want to keep their old customers who raved about Peuche they need to do something fast. The high ratings of 2012 were fully deserved and many of us are really sorry he left, but we are willing to keep our minds open. However, as of mid July 2013, the restaurant web site does not list ANY dinner menu or prix fixe. In the meantime you can get a great prix fixe at Stone Creek Inn in East Quogue, $30 Mondays through Thursdays all night, till 6:30 pm Sunday nights, for a three course prix fixe. Compare to Starr Boggs, an excellent restaurant that offers a two course prix fixe only, which I find quite cheesy on their part. But Stone Creek Inn is just as good and offers a better deal. Aside from them, Turquaz in Riverhead and Matsulin in Hampton Bays are the default choices, and very good ones too at moderate prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Is it a gem?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is very nice. It's in a beautiful setting. As we walked in the front door, the smell of smoke lingers in the cover entrance. The manger was on the phone, and snapped to the server to greet and seat us. Menu's were given, a wine list was not, so we requested. We ordered mixed drinks instead. The server "Kelsey" was very attentive, with good knowledge of the menu. The drinks were good quality, but had a chip in the glass, also bread plate had a chip and spoon was
dirty with old lettuce. The food was good, mostly good value for the meal. I was a little disappointed with the filet mignon, over cooked and very fatty, also the mashed potatoes seemed old, or extremely over whipped to a plaster
consistency. When I complained to the server, her niceness changed to disapproval and annoyance. 36 dollars for over cooked, fatty filet, no very ideal, but all other aspects of dinner were good. The menu needs help, as there are only 8-10 items, for entree's. but they did prepare outside of the menu on request.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Out of the way country club restaurant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The food here was quite good, the service excellent but the menu was not varied enough. The server was attentive and wanted to accommodate but our party did not have enough choices to make it a great dining experience. The outstanding item on the menu were fantastic soft shelled crabs....served fried but we chose sautéed which were wonderful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calverton, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Food and service was excelllent. I had great soft shell crabs. Another time I had a rack of lamb which which was great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewall Restaurant also viewed

 
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Stonewall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.